MotoGP World Championship – San Marino Grand Prix

Marquez makes it to the Podium

By finishing third in the San Marino Grand Prix, Álex Márquez made it to the podium for the eighth time this season. A performance that allows the Moto2 Championship leader to maintain a lead of more than one victory in the overall standings.

After his fall in Britain, Álex Márquez had to redeem himself. Which is just what he did. On a circuit where he has never felt very comfortable, the Marc VDS rider managed to qualify for the front row on the starting grid before taking a place on the podium. In the fight with Augusto Fernandez and Fabio Di Giannantonio, Márquez had to struggle for a long time before securing third place. “Right from the first lap I had a major warning that made me think,” said the championship leader. “I narrowly avoided a crash, and I told myself the race was going to be difficult. I concentrated on keeping the fastest pace possible by staying with the riders ahead of me. After my fall at Silverstone, I had to get back on track.” Xavi Vierge had a positive weekend, finishing eighth, as he did in June in the Netherlands. For a long time sixth, the Catalan unfortunately missed a gear in the last laps, leaving Navarro and Binder to use it to their advantage and overtake him. On the Tech 3 Moto2 side, Marco Bezzecchi fell at the start of the race and Philipp Oettl finished twenty-third. In MotoGP, Hafizh finished fifteenth, just ahead of Miguel Oliveira. Victim of a fall early in the race when he could have made the top ten, the Portuguese rider managed to return to the track in last position and almost scored points.

The Championship

In making it back to the podium, Alex Marquez keeps first place in the overall Moto2 standings with more than one victory ahead of Augusto Fernandez, the winner in Misano. Thanks to his eighth place, Xavi Vierge has moved up a position. He is now thirteenth with 53 points. Hafizh Syahrin keeps his twenty-fourth place with six points while Miguel Oliveira is now eighteenth one point behind Andrea Iannone and Johan Zarco.