6 hours of Shanghaï: Toyota endures Chinese torture

shangaiThe two Toyotas TS030 HYBRID were flying to success a little over an hour from the end of the 6 Hours of Shanghai when a twist of fate handed a sixth win in seven races to Audi.

The facts
After the win in a curtailed race at home in Fuji, Toyota aimed to convert their advantage in performance in Shanghai. Alex Wurz and Nicolas Lapierre’s was the best start to the weekend. On the day after, the #7 of the French-Austrian duo lead the start soon followed by sister-car # 8 with Anthony Davidson, Sebastien Buemi and Stephane Sarrazin.
For more than four hours, a historic double loomed lap after lap. Then a puncture hit the #7 which had just refuelled. A few minutes later, the #8 was retired following a broken suspension.
The Audi R18 #1 with Andre Lotterer, Marcel Fassler and Benoit Treluyer took the opportunity close the gap to to return in the wake of the 7 and Tréluyer passed Wurz after a thrilling duel to win with the final 16 seconds feed .

The sentence
“It was an amazing weekend until the last 90 minutes of the race.”
French driver Stephane Sarrazin, like all Toyota team, believed a second victory in two years in Shanghai was possible for the TS030 HYBRID. The mechanical issues lead to a “a huge disappointment” for his teammate Anthony Davidson.

The figure
162 – With 162 points one race to season end, Allan McNich, Loïc Duval and Tom Kristensen , who secured 3rd place in Shanghai, are the new World Endurance champions .

The anecdote
The Toyota was still reflecting, at the end of last weekend, regarding the origin of their suspension failure which cost dear to the #8. “The suspension problem was maybe due to contact with another car at the beginning; we are investigating exactly why this happened,” team boss Yoshiaki Kinoshita said.

Next up
Bahrain Six Hours, 30 November 2013

Pos Cl Drivers Team/Car Time/Gap
1. P1 Lotterer/Treluyer/Fassler Audi 6h01m33.343s
2. P1 Wurz/Lapierre Toyota +15.374s
3. P1 Kristensen/Duval/McNish Audi +1 laps
4. P1 Belicchi/Beche/Prost Rebellion Lola-Toyota +5 laps
5. P2 Rusinov/Martin/Conway Delta-ADR ORECA-Nissan +13 laps
6. P2 Pla/Heinemeier Hansson/Brundle OAK Morgan-Nissan +13 laps
7. P2 Baguette/Gonzalez/Plowman OAK Morgan-Nissan +13 laps
8. P2 Graves/Kerr/Dolby Delta-ADR ORECA-Nissan +14 laps
9. P2 Shulzhitckiy/Lux/Wirdheim Greaves Zytek-Nissan +15 laps
10. P2 Nicolet/Ihara/Cheng OAK Morgan-Nissan +18 laps
11. P2 Holzer/Kraihamer/Charouz Lotus +18 laps
12. GTE P Turner/Mucke Aston Martin +21 laps
13. GTE P Lamy/Senna/Stanaway Aston Martin +21 laps
14. GTE P Bergmeister/Pilet Manthey Porsche +22 laps
15. GTE P Bruni/Fisichella AF Ferrari +22 laps
16. GTE P Kobayashi/Vilander AF Ferrari +23 laps
17. GTE P Lieb/Lietz Manthey Porsche +23 laps
18. GTE A Potolicchio/Aguas/Rigon 8Star Ferrari +24 laps
19. GTE A Narac/Vernay/Palttala Imsa Porsche +25 laps
20. GTE A Campbell-Walter/Hall/Adam Aston Martin +25 laps
21. GTE A Ried/Roda/Ruberti Proton Porsche +25 laps
22. GTE A Bornhauser/Canal/Rees Larbre Corvette +26 laps
23. GTE A Gerber/Griffin/Cioci AF Ferrari +26 laps
24. P1 Davidson/Buemi/Sarrazin Toyota +47 laps
25. GTE A Krohn/Jonsson/Mediani Krohn Ferrari +51 laps

Leave a Reply