MotoGP, Grand Prix of Qatar

Morbidelli Makes It

After promising preparation work during the winter, Franco Morbidelli confirmed in Qatar that he’ll be someone to reckon with this season. A stated candidate for the Moto2 World Championship title, the Italian rider brilliantly won the first race of the season.

 

 

The Races

Although he has already made it eight times to the podium, Franco Morbidelli had never managed to reach the first step. The Total rider put an end to that regrettable fact the best way possible by winning on the Losail circuit after obtaining his first pole position. Having overtaken Tom Lüthi, the Italian raced out in front to cross the finish line nearly three seconds ahead of his Swiss rival. Second on the grid, Alex Marquez was in third position for many laps before downshifting to fifth. Jack Miller began the MotoGP championship on the right foot. On a circuit that has always been unfortunate for Hondas, the Australian managed to get the better of Alex Rins late in the laps and take eighth place in a race won by Maverick Viñales. Still recovering from his terrible crash during the test sessions in Malaysia early in February, Tito Rabat nonetheless clinched fifteenth place. In Moto3, Jakub Kornfeil ended twentieth while Patrik Pulkkinen fell four laps from the finish line.

The Championship

Attacking hard at the start of this season, Team Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS can be proud of its four riders having all scored points. In MotoGP, Miller and Rabat left Qatar in eighth and fifteenth places respectively in the overall standings, while in Moto2, Morbidelli and Marquez now hold first and fifth positions in the provisional ranking.

The Background

Last year, an arsenal of aerodynamic appendages were added to the fairings of the MotoGP bikes, turning the Grand Prix machines into fighter aircraft. Considering most of the fins to be dangerous, and anxious to keep inflation in development costs under control, the race managers decided to ban all of them. This year, teams can no longer expand the fairings of their motorbikes at will. The first model has to be approved during the first Grand Prix, and then only one upgrade is allowed during the season. In addition, it must be approved by the MotoGP technical director. None of the regulations prevent engineers in the racing departments from using their brains, however. The result is that we saw a whole range of new ideas take form over the winter, with wings tucked inside the double flanks, and front fairing nose trims equipped with nozzles or extractors.

MotoGP is the pinnacle of motorcycle racing , the championship must remain a testing ground for brands and their engineers.

Michael Bartholemy,
boss of Team Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS.

Kris Meeke and Paul Nagle claim the Citroën C3 WRC’s first win!

Rally Guanajuato México (7-12 March 2017)

Kris Meeke and Paul Nagle kept up their impressive form and (just about) held their nerve on the final day of Rally Mexico. Despite running off the road a few corners before the end of the Power Stage, the Citroën Total Abu Dhabi WRT crew secured the C3 WRC’s maiden rally win!

– The final day of the rally only featured two stages: La Calera (32.96km) and the Derramadero Power Stage (21.94km).

– As the crews left the service park this morning, light rain had started to fall. This led to the Citroën Total Abu Dhabi WRT crews making different calls when it came to tyre choice. Kris Meeke went with four soft and two hard Michelin LTX Force tyres, whilst Stéphane Lefebvre opted to go with six soft compound tyres.

– On the penultimate speed test, Kris Meeke claimed his fifth stage win of the weekend. He extended his lead over Sébastien Ogier by another 6.3s, whilst Stéphane Lefebvre set an excellent third fastest time.

– The team looked on nervously as the crews contested the Power Stage, broadcast live on television. And there was certainly no shortage of drama! With the finishing line almost in sight, the Northern Irishman’s Citroën C3 WRC ran wide on a long right-hand corner. The car ran through the hedge at the side of the road and into… a spectator car park!

– Kris managed to keep his cool, get around the parked cars and back onto the road in a few seconds. He crossed the finishing line to secure victory by 13.8 seconds!

– After something of an emotional roller-coaster ride during the final stage, there were scenes of joy and celebration in the team as Kris and Paul were welcomed as champions on their return to the León service park.

– This is Kris Meeke and Paul Nagle’s fourth win in the WRC, following Argentina in 2015, and Portugal and Finland in 2016. It is also Citroën’s 97th win in the World Rally Championship.

 

YVES MATTONYves Matton
Directeur de Citroën Racing
«What happened in the Power Stage is almost beyond belief, even if this kind of thing has occurred before. At the time, there was some confusion as to what had happened; the onboard footage made it look like there had been a major off whereas the tracking system indicated that the car was still moving. When the car crossed the finishing line, we were absolutely thrilled and all the tension and drama just slipped away! This first win on gravel shows that the C3 WRC has some very solid foundations and that the Citroën Racing team did a good job during its development. We’ll now be able to work in a slightly more relaxed manner as we look to keep improving.»

 

KRIS MEEKEKris Meeke
« I think I might end up telling this story hundreds of times… I’m annoyed with myself for making that mistake. The car went wide after a big compression and we were very lucky. I quickly looked to get back on the road because I knew we could still win. That’s the main thing: we showed the potential of the Citroën C3 WRC in securing the car’s first win. I’m proud and delighted for the entire team, this result is for them.»

 

STÉPHANE LEFEBVREStéphane Lefebvre
« We have picked up a lot of experience this weekend. Even today, being eleventh on the road meant I had the same grip as the leaders and I was able to get a feel for what the car can do in these conditions. Well done to Kris, Paul and the whole team; this win is a special moment for Citroën Racing. »

Superbike World Championship, Thailand

Rea Races On

As in Australia two weeks ago, Jonathan Rea won both races during the weekend in Thailand. Untouchable in Buriram, the twin world champion now already has a thirty-point lead over Chaz Davies

The Races

Once again, Jonathan Rea did not do things by halves. The Kawasaki rider scored two new victories on the Buriram circuit which hosted the second round of the Superbike World Championship. After clocking up the fastest time in the qualifying sessions, Rea clearly outperformed his opponents in both races. The result on Sunday was even more impressive in that the Kawasaki rider was forced to start from the ninth position after winning the race the day before. Head and shoulders above the pack, he didn’t need much time to overtake those ahead of him. After four laps of a race reduced to sixteen after an interruption due to oil on the track, Rea was already in the lead and could race away to his fifth victory on the Buriram track.

It’s the best start to a season I’ve ever had, I feel really good on the bike and everything is going well. But I was nervous at the start of the second race because it’s not easy to overtake on this circuit and with the speed of the Ducati’s… Melandri is also very tough braking. But everything went well.

Jonathan Rea

Behind him, Tom Sykes did the job by taking two podium places despite minor brake problems. Finishing twelfth on Saturday afternoon, Randy Krummenacher unfortunately didn’t cross the finish line the next day.

In Supersport, Thitipong Warokorn fittingly replaced Kenan Sofuoglu, who’s still recovering. The Thai finished fourth in a race marked by a number of retirements. Kyles Smith, meanwhile, crossed the finish line in fifth position, while Canducci was forced to retire due to mechanical problems.

The Championship

With four wins in four races, Jonathan Rea will attack the European leg of the world championship with a lead of thirty points over Chaz Davies. Third in the standings, Tom Sykes is only eight points behind the Ducati rider. In Supersport, Kyle Ryde moved up to fourth place overall while Michael Canducci fell back to twentieth position.

The Background

With four wins in four races, Jonathan Rea couldn’t do better in the first two overseas races of the 2017 season. This year, the twin Superbike World Champion – who could become the first rider to win three titles in a row – says he’s never felt so good on his bike. But once again this season, the increasingly stringent technical regulations have seriously limited the work of the Kawasaki engineers.

We can’t do much to the bike, especially the engine, That’s why this winter we concentrated on the chassis to optimize the work of the tyres all along the races.

Marcel Duinker,
chief engineer for Tom Sykes

Work that has obviously paid off. In Australia, as in Thailand, Jonathan Rea finished both races at a very good pace:

 We have a great technical set-up with a very well balanced bike.

The PEUGEOT DKR to target more Silk Way Rally Glory

PRESS RELEASE – MARCH 02 2017

  • PEUGEOT Total’s Dream Team is to follow up its landmark one-two-three success on January’s Dakar* with an entry of three factory PEUGEOT DKRs for the 2017 Silk Way Rally (SWR) on July 7-22. PEUGEOT SPORT has confirmed that these cars will be in the hands of DESPRES, LOEB and PETERHANSEL.
  • After winning the 2016 Silk Way Rally**, Team PEUGEOT Total will be out to provide further evidence of the strength and competitive potential of the two-wheel drive PEUGEOT DKR.
  • The event will take the three PEUGEOT DKRs from Moscow’s Red Square in Russia to Xi’an, China, via the Kazakh Steppe and the Mongolian desert on an extreme adventure to back the international offensive of PEUGEOT’s SUV range which is enjoying significant success in Europe and China.

1st: S. PETERHANSEL/J-P. COTTRET. 2nd, S. LOEB/D. ELENA. 3rd, C. DESPRES/D. CASTERA
**1st, C. DESPRES/D. CASTERA (PEUGEOT 2008DKR)

QUOTE, UNQUOTE…

Bruno FAMIN, Director, PEUGEOT SPORT
“The 2017 Silk Way Rally will provide PEUGEOT SPORT with another opportunity to showcase its competitiveness in the world of cross-country rallying. Team PEUGEOT TOTAL is targeting another win on this event which has forged a reputation for being long and gruelling and this year’s rally is likely to be no exception. The terrain it covers, its slot in the calendar and its format make it an exciting challenge for PEUGEOT SPORT, while Russia and China are both very important markets for PEUGEOT.”

Jean Philippe IMPARATO, CEO, PEUGEOT Brand
“PEUGEOT sees the Silk Way Rally as a means to showcase its knowhow and expertise with an entry spearheaded by three highly talented French drivers, namely Stéphane PETERHANSEL, Sébastien LOEB and Cyril DESPRES. We have already demonstrated the performance and reliability of PEUGEOT’s road cars and competition cars and I am convinced that Team PEUGEOT TOTAL will rise successfully to this new challenge thanks to the team spirit that helped it to earn such a successful record.”

Frédéric LEQUIEN, Director, Silk Way Rally
“As organisers, we are extremely proud and honoured to have one of the world’s best-known brands and one of cross-country rallying’s most successful teams contesting our event. All three PEUGEOT crews boast exceptional records and they are all genuine personalities. The 2017 Silk Way Rally promises to be a magnificent, spectacular but also challenging event, with a nicely-balanced itinerary, a wide variety of terrains and a new finish venue this time in Xi’an. We have attracted some major media broadcasting partnerships which will help to promote the Silk Way Rally’s reputation and coverage.”

Enregistrer

MotoGP, Grand Prix du Qatar

Morbidelli première

Après une préparation hivernale prometteuse, Franco Morbidelli a confirmé au Qatar qu’il faudrait cette année compter sur lui. Candidat déclaré au titre de champion du monde Moto2, l’Italien a brillamment remporté la première course de la saison.

Les courses

S’il était déjà monté à huit reprises sur le podium, Franco Morbidelli n’avait encore jamais réussi à se hisser sur la première marche. Le pilote Total a mis fin à cette regrettable abstinence de la plus belle des manières en s’offrant la victoire sur le circuit de Losail après y avoir obtenu sa première pole position. Le temps de se débarrasser de Tom Lüthi, l’Italien a filé seul devant pour franchir la ligne d’arrivée avec près de trois secondes d’avance sur son rival suisse. Deuxième sur la grille, Alex Marquez a longtemps figuré en troisième position avant de rétrograder en cinquième position. Jack Miller a de son côté entamé le championnat MotoGP du bon pied. Sur un circuit pourtant peu favorable aux Honda, l’Australien a réussi à prendre l’avantage en fin de course sur Alex Rins pour s’octroyer la huitième place d’une course remportée par Maverick Viñales. Encore convalescent après sa terrible chute aux tests en Malaisie, début février, Tito Rabat a décroché quant à lui le point de la quinzième place. En Moto3, Jakub Kornfeil s’est classé vingtième alors que Patrik Pulkkinen est tombé à quatre tours de l’arrivée.

Le championnat

A l’attaque de cette nouvelle saison, le Team Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS peut se féliciter d’avoir placé ses quatre pilotes dans les points. En MotoGP, Miller et Rabat repartent du Qatar aux huitième et quinzième places du classement général alors qu’en Moto2, Morbidelli et Marquez s’installent aux première et cinquième positions du classement provisoire.

L’histoire

L’an dernier, les carénages des MotoGP avaient vu fleurir tout un arsenal d’appendices aérodynamiques transformant les machines de Grands Prix en avions de chasse. Jugeant la plupart de ces ailerons dangereux, et soucieuse de juguler l’inflation au niveau des coûts de développement, la direction de course a décidé de les interdire. Cette année, les équipes ne peuvent donc plus développer à leur guise les carénages de leurs motos. Un premier modèle doit être homologué lors du premier Grand Prix, et une seule évolution est ensuite autorisée en cours de saison. Celle-ci doit bien évidemment recevoir l’aval du directeur technique du MotoGP. Tout cela n’empêche cependant pas les ingénieurs des services course de phosphorer. Ainsi a-t-on vu fleurir cet hiver de nouvelles idées, avec des ailerons glissés dans les double-flancs, des nez de carénage équipés de tuyères ou encore d’extracteurs.

Le MotoGP, c’est le sommet de la compétition moto, ce championnat doit demeurer un champ d’expérience pour les marques et leurs ingénieurs.

Michael Bartholemy,
Patron du team Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS

Kris Meeke et Paul Nagle décrochent la 1ère victoire de la Citroën C3 WRC !

Rally Guanajuato Mexico (7-12 mars 2017)

Sur leur lancée, Kris Meeke et Paul Nagle n’ont (presque) pas tremblé lors de la dernière étape du Rallye du Mexique. Malgré une excursion hors de la route à quelques virages de l’arrivée de la Power Stage, l’équipage Citroën Total Abu Dhabi WRT offre à la C3 WRC sa toute première victoire !

– Pour cette dernière journée, seules deux spéciales figuraient au programme : La Calera (32,96 km) et la Power Stage de Derramadero (21,94 km).

– Au moment de quitter le parc d’assistance, la pluie faisait son retour. Le choix des pneumatiques dans le clan Citroën Total Abu Dhabi WRT s’orientait différemment. Kris Meeke embarquait quatre Michelin LTX Force tendres et deux durs, tandis que Stéphane Lefebvre profitait de six pneus tendres.

– Dans l’avant-dernière spéciale, Kris Meeke obtenait son cinquième temps scratch du week-end. Il prenait 6’’3 supplémentaires à Sébastien Ogier, tandis que Stéphane Lefebvre réalisait un excellent troisième chrono.

– L’équipe retenait son souffle pour la Power Stage, diffusée en direct à la télévision. Et elle n’allait pas être déçue ! À quelques virages de l’arrivée, la Citroën C3 WRC du Britannique se déportait sur l’extérieur d’un long virage à droite. La voiture basculait dans le dévers pour se retrouver… dans un parking de spectateurs !

– Grâce à son sang-froid, Kris parvenait à remonter sur la route en quelques secondes. Il franchissait la ligne d’arrivée en vainqueur, pour 13’’8 !

– Après être passée par toutes les émotions, l’équipe pouvait laisser exploser sa joie et fêter ses champions lors de leur retour au parc d’assistance de León.

– Cette victoire est la quatrième de Kris Meeke et Paul Nagle en WRC, après l’Argentine 2015, le Portugal et la Finlande 2016. Il s’agit aussi de la 97e victoire de Citroën en Championnat du Monde des Rallyes.

YVES MATTONYves Matton
Directeur de Citroën Racing
« Ce qui s’est passé dans la Power Stage est à peine croyable, même si ce genre de scénario s’est déjà produit par le passé. Sur le moment, la situation était confuse, entre les caméras embarquées laissant penser que c’était une grosse sortie de route et le ‘tracking’ qui indiquait que la voiture était toujours en mouvement. Lorsque la voiture a coupé la ligne d’arrivée, nous avons laissé éclater notre joie à la hauteur du suspense et de l’événement ! Cette première victoire sur terre nous permet de démontrer que la C3 WRC est une bonne base de travail et que l’équipe Citroën Racing a fait du bon travail lors de son développement. Nous allons pouvoir travailler sereinement pour continuer notre progression. »

 

KRIS MEEKEKris Meeke
« Je crois que je devrai raconter cette histoire quelques dizaines de fois… Je regrette d’avoir fait cette erreur, la voiture est partie en glisse après une grosse compression et nous avons eu de la réussite. J’ai aussitôt cherché à revenir sur la route car je savais que nous pouvions encore gagner. C’est ça l’essentiel : nous avons démontré le potentiel de la Citroën C3 WRC en lui offrant sa première victoire. C’est une grande fierté d’obtenir ce résultat pour toute l’équipe. »

 

STÉPHANE LEFEBVREStéphane Lefebvre
« Nous avons pris énormément d’expérience ce week-end. Aujourd’hui encore, ma onzième place sur la route m’a permis de rouler avec un grip équivalent à celui des leaders et de prendre la mesure de la voiture dans ces conditions. Bravo à Kris, Paul et à toute l’équipe, cette victoire est un grand moment pour Citroën Racing. »

Enregistrer

Enregistrer

Championnat du monde de Superbike – Thaïlande

Rea sur la lancée

Comme en Australie deux semaines plus tôt, Jonathan Rea a remporté les deux courses du week-end thaïlandais. Intouchable à Buriram, le double champion du monde compte d’ores et déjà trente points d’avance sur Chaz Davies

Les courses

Une fois de plus, Jonathan Rea n’a pas fait de détails. Le pilote Kawasaki s’est en effet adjugé deux nouvelles victoires sur le circuit de Buriram qui accueillait la deuxième épreuve du championnat du monde Superbike. Après avoir signé le meilleur temps des qualifications, Rea a largement devancé ses adversaires dans les deux courses. Celle du dimanche a d’autant plus été impressionnante que le pilote Kawasaki était contraint de s’élancer de la neuvième position après avoir gagné la veille. Au-dessus du lot, il n’a pas mis longtemps à doubler ceux qui le précédaient. Après quatre tours d’une course réduite à seize tours à la suite d’une interruption due à de l’huile sur la piste, Rea était en tête et pouvait filer vers son cinquième succès sur la piste de Buriram.

 C’est le meilleur début de saison que j’ai jamais réalisé, assure le double champion du monde. Je me sens vraiment bien sur la moto, et tout s’enchaîne bien. J’étais pourtant nerveux au départ de la deuxième course car ça n’est pas facile de doubler sur ce circuit et avec la vitesse des Ducati… Melandri est aussi très coriace au freinage. Mais tout s’est bien passé.

Jonathan Rea

Derrière, Tom Sykes a fait le métier en décrochant deux podiums malgré des petits soucis de freins. Douzième samedi après-midi, Randy Krummenacher n’a malheureusement pas franchi la ligne d’arrivée le lendemain.

En Supersport, Thitipong Warokorn a dignement assuré le remplacement de Kenan Sofuoglu, toujours convalescent. Le Thaïlandais s’est en effet classé quatrième d’une course marquée par de nombreux abandons. Kyles Smith a quant à lui franchi la ligne d’arrivée en cinquième position alors que Canducci a été contraint à l’abandon sur problème mécanique.

Le championnat

Avec quatre victoire en quatre courses, Jonathan Rea va attaquer la tournée européenne du championnat du monde fort d’une avance de trente points sur Chaz Davies. Troisième du classement, Tom Sykes ne compte que huit points de retard sur le pilote Ducati. En Supersport, Kyle Ryde se hisse à la quatrième place du classement général tandis que Michael Canducci rétrograde en vingtième position.

L’histoire

Avec quatre victoires en quatre courses, Jonathan Rea ne pouvait pas mieux négocier les deux premières épreuves outremer de la saison 2017. Le double champion du monde Superbike qui pourrait devenir cette année le premier pilote à décrocher trois titres d’affilée affirme ne s’être jamais aussi bien senti sur sa moto. Pourtant, cette saison encore, le règlement technique de plus en strict a sérieusement limité le travail des ingénieurs Kawasaki.

On ne peut plus toucher à grand-chose sur la moto, et notamment au niveau du moteur. C’est pour cela que cet hiver nous nous sommes concentrés sur le châssis afin d’optimiser le travail des pneumatiques sur la longueur des courses.

Marcel Duinker,
le chef mécanicien de Tom Sykes.

Un travail qui a visiblement porté ses fruits. En Australie comme en Thaïlande, Jonathan Rea a fini les deux manches sur un très bon rythme  :

 On a un excellent package technique avec une moto très bien équilibrée .

Le Silk Way Rally dans le viseur des Peugeot DKR

COMMUNIQUÉ DE PRESSE – 02 MARS 2017

  • Après le triplé historique de la Dream Team PEUGEOT Total au Dakar en janvier*,PEUGEOT SPORT annonce l’engagement de trois PEUGEOT DKR officielles au Silk Way Rally 2017 (SWR) du 7 au 22 juillet prochain. Elles seront pilotées par le trio DESPRES / LOEB / PETERHANSEL.
  • Vainqueur de l’édition 2016 du Silk Way Rally**, le Team PEUGEOT Total aura à coeur de confirmer ses performances ainsi que la solidité, la robustesse et la sportivité de son deux-roues motrices PEUGEOT DKR.
  • De la Place Rouge de Moscou (Russie) à Xi’an (Chine), en passant par les steppes du Kazakhstan et les dunes de Mongolie, l’engagement sportif des PEUGEOT DKR dans cette aventure extrême viendra renforcer l’offensive SUV de PEUGEOT à l’international ; une stratégie commerciale qui connaît déjà un franc succès, tant en Europe qu’en Chine.

* 1er S.PETERHANSEL / J-P.COTTRET ; 2ème S.LOEB / D.ELENA ; 3ème C.DESPRES / D.CASTERA.

** C.DESPRES / D.CASTERA sur PEUGEOT 2008DKR

ILS ONT DIT…

Bruno FAMIN, Directeur de PEUGEOT SPORT
« Le SWR c’est une nouvelle opportunité pour PEUGEOT SPORT d’exprimer sa compétitivité en rallye-raid, sur une épreuve très longue et très intense qui s’annonce d’ores et déjà difficile mais passionnante ! Le Team PEUGEOT TOTAL s’engage avec l’ambition de gagner. Le SWR présente des atouts à la fois dans sa géographie, dans le calendrier sportif et le format proposé. La Russie et la Chine sont des marchés très importants pour la marque PEUGEOT ; l’épreuve du Silk Way Rally l’est donc tout autant pour PEUGEOT SPORT. »

Jean Philippe IMPARATO, Directeur Général PEUGEOT
« PEUGEOT s’engage au Silk Way Rally avec l’envie de démontrer tout son savoir-faire et son expertise. Elle sera représentée par nos talentueux pilotes français Stéphane PETERHANSEL, Sébastien LOEB et Cyril DESPRES. Nous avons déjà démontré la performance et la fiabilité des autos que PEUGEOT fabrique, que ce soit les modèles de série ou de compétition. Je suis convaincu que le Team PEUGEOT TOTAL saura relever ce nouveau défi sportif avec l’esprit d’équipe qui fait sa force. »

Frédéric LEQUIEN, Directeur du Silk Way Rally
« Pour nous, organisateur, c’est une immense fierté et beaucoup d’honneur d’accueillir l’un des constructeurs les plus célèbre au monde sur notre épreuve, qui plus est l’un des plus titré en rallye-raid. Les 3 équipages PEUGEOT ont une personnalité et un palmarès extraordinaires. C’est un spectacle magnifique qui va être proposé sur cette édition 2017 : un parcours varié et équilibré, une grande diversité de terrain, de nombreux challenges et une nouveauté avec l’arrivée à Xi’an. Nous avons signé de nouveaux gros partenariats de diffusion avec les médias, ce qui contribuera à développer la renommée et les retombées du Silk Way Rally. »

Enregistrer

Enregistrer