Superbike World Championship Qatar

Rea crowned, Kawasaki king

Virtually assured of the championship title on arriving in Qatar, Jonathan Rea logically won his second world champion crown. Tom Sykes completed the success of the Kawasaki team, ensuring second place overall.

The Races

Needing only two points to be crowned, Jonathan Rea had no reason to go all out in the last round of the season held on the Losail circuit. The Brit therefore satisfied himself with a second place on Saturday afternoon, but not before taking pole position a little earlier and winning his second world champion title in a row.

Fourth in the first race, Tom Sykes meanwhile found himself threatened by Chaz Davies, the winner, who was determined to outflank the Kawasaki rider to take second place in the championship. Everything depended on Sunday’s race as a result, reduced to ten laps after a trace of oil required a red flag. Although Davies won again, Sykes was able to rely on the helping hand of his teammate who kindly gave him second place.

In so doing the two Kawasaki riders finished the 2016 season with the two first places of the World Superbike Championship. In Supersport Kenan Sofuoglu finished six milliseconds away from victory. Randy Krummenacher finished fifth.

The Championship

After joining Kawasaki last season, Jonathan Rea this season won his second world champion title ahead of his teammate Tom Sykes. Taking the last podium of the year together, the two Brits also allowed Kawasaki to win the constructors’ title with 582 points, 65 more than the runner-up to the Japanese manufacturer. Assured of his world title on arriving in Qatar, Kenan Sofuoglu was unable to help Randy Krummenacher in his quest for the place of vice-champion in the World Supersport standings. The Swiss rider eventually finished in third place overall two points away from the second-placed rider, France’s Jules Cluzel.

The Background

Less than two years after entering the new ZX-10R to motorsports, this season the Kawasaki team made a clean sweep of the championships, winning the riders’ title, the manufacturers’ title and the team title! Three well-deserved world champion crowns and a magnificent twin-win for Jonathan Rea and Tom Sykes.

There are magical moments and this is undeniably one of them […] Seeing our two riders in the first two places in the championship says a lot about their investment. Now we need to keep working, because I am sure that next year the competition will be even hotter.

Guim Roda, Team Manager for the Greens

For Kawasaki Europe Racing Manager Steve Guttridge, the triple crown rewards the work of a whole team once again.

I have to congratulate both riders but also to all those who make up this great team. Without them, nothing would be possible.

Steve Guttridge

MotoGP World Championship, Malaysian Grand Prix

Miller the most

Tenth in Australia, eighth in Malaysia, Jack Miller set things right again at the end of the season, which is good news for the next MotoGP championship.

The Races

Once again, the rain disrupted the weekend of the Malaysian Grand Prix. Even though the temperatures were much warmer than at Phillip Island, the showers further complicated the work of the riders and their teams. Avoiding the traps as he managed to do in Australia, on his home home turf, Jack Miller once again fought it out with the top ten. He crossed the finish line in eighth position this time but above all was the first Honda rider.

Lacking feeling on the wet track, Rabat could do no better than eighteenth. In Moto2, the two riders of Team Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS shone between the raindrops. For a long time the race leader, Morbidelli only bowed out in the final laps against the now twin world champion Johann Zarco. Marquez recovered from his tough Australian weekend by snatchin­g a nice seventh place.

The Championship

With his new second place, Morbidelli is now only six points from the third place in the championship, held by Alex Rins. Marquez has moved back up to twelfth position. In MotoGP, Miller has moved up one place, and is now seventeenth. Rabat has slipped back to twenty-first.

The Background

I didn’t think Johann was going to attack like that at the end of the race. He could have stayed behind me since a second place was all he needed to win the title…

Franco Morbidelli

At the finish of the Malaysian Grand Prix he ended with a new second place, his fourth since the beginning of the season, Franco Morbidelli was still in good humour. The friendly rider of the Team Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS not only scored his fourth podium in a row, but is also becoming increasingly effective. An associate of the Academy VR46, the Italian is a student highly appreciated by the master Valentino Rossi.

Franco is not far from victory,” ensures the nine-time world champion. “He’s a talented and hardworking young rider. As soon as he wins his first Grand Prix, he’ll move up a gear. He has everything he needs to become a candidate for the Moto2 world champion title starting next year.

Valentino Rossi

For now, Franco would like to get the upper hand over Rins at the next race in Valencia and take third place in the overall classification.

MotoGP: Australian Grand Prix (Phillip Island)

Morbidelli within a hundredth of victory

Leading at the exit of the last bend on the Phillip Island circuit, Franco Morbidelli had his first Grand Prix victory stolen right under his nose at the finish line. But his time will come.

FRANCO MORBIDELLI ITA  ESTRELLA GALICIA 0,0 MARC VDS  KALEX Moto2  GP Australia 2016 (Circuit Phillip Island) 21-23/10.2016   PSP/ Lukasz Swiderek  www.photoPSP.com

The Races

This time, Franco Morbidelli nearly made it to the top step of the podium. After two complicated free practice sessions and a few falls that never managed to shake his confidence, the Italian rider completed a near perfect Australian Grand Prix. Leading at the exit of the last bend, Morbidelli had victory stolen from him by Tom Lüthi right under his nose.

Experience tells, but you cannot find fault with Franco, he rode very well and I am sure that his first win is not far away.

Michael Bartholemy

His teammate didn’t make it to the start. Victim during the practice test sessions of a heavy fall after hitting Julian Simon who had run out of gas, Álex Márquez spent the night from Saturday to Sunday at Melbourne hospital. Back on the circuit for the warm-up despite sharp pains in the back and abdomen, the Spaniard was suffering too much to compete in the race. In MotoGP Jack Miller scored a good tenth place while Tito Rabat finished in sixteenth position, one away from any points.

The Championship

With the twenty points he pocketed in Australia, Franco Morbidelli has now climbed to fourth place in the Moto2 championship. Having had to withdraw, Marquez has slipped back to fourteenth position. There was no change in the MotoGP standings. Miller and Rabat remain in seventeenth and twentieth positions respectively in the championship.

The Background

This time, Jack Miller was equal to the task. Racing on home turf, the rider of Team Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS handled the pressure of his country’s Grand Prix perfectly and no doubt had his best weekend since his victory in the Netherlands. The performance all the more remarkable in that the conditions were particularly atrocious last weekend at Phillip Island, with polar cold, incessant rain and raging gusts of wind.

It was very complicated, especially during the practice test sessions because the track conditions changed constantly. You had to have the right tires at the right time.

Jack Miller

Fifth on the starting grid, Jack signed his best qualifying time of the season. And in the race, he fought it out until the last lap for seventh place with riders such as Bradley Smith, Scott Redding, Danilo Petrucci and Stefan Bradl. Starting with a front tire that he had not had time to evaluate during the practice test sessions, the Australian regaled the audience by trading places tit for tat with his opponents.

The important thing was to cross the finish line and score a few points and that’s just what I did

Jack Mller

MotoGP-Grand Prix of Japan

Morbidelli on the Move

As in Alcaniz three weeks ago, Franco Morbidelli once again made it to the Moto2 podium in Japan. Tito Rabat has regained points in MotoGP.

FRANCO MORBIDELLI ITA  ESTRELLA GALICIA 0,0 MARC VDS  KALEX Moto2  GP Japan 2016 (Circuit Twin Ring Motegi) 14-16/10.2016   PSP/ Lukasz Swiderek  www.photoPSP.com

The Races

Finishing third as in the last race in Aragon, in Japan Morbidelli took his fifth podium in eight races. A series of results that confirms the build-up of the rider of the Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS team. Starting from the front row, Morbidelli rode a good section of the race behind Lüthi, the eventual winner, before having to leave second place to Zarco. Attacked late in the race by Nakagami, the Italian immediately retaliated to keep his place on the podium. Also seeking his second podium in a row, Alex Marquez unfortunately fell early in the race just as he had slipped into seventh place. In MotoGP, Tito Rabat finished fourteenth after two Grands Prix during which he didn’t score a single point. On the other hand, Jack Miller was even less successful when he returned to racing after several long weeks of absence. The Aussie fell in the seventh lap when he hoped to finish in the top ten.

The Championship

Taking advantage of his podium and Sam Lowes’s fall, Franco Morbidelli is now only five points from fourth place in the Moto2 championship. Marquez has lost a place in the overall standings, and is now thirteenth. In MotoGP, Rabat has kept his twentieth position while Miller has slipped into the eighteenth spot.

The Background

With the Japanese Grand Prix, the teams in the MotoGP world championship have begun a series of three races in three weeks which after Motegi, will take them to then to Australia and Malaysia.

It’s an intense period which is as exciting as it is complicated to negotiate; You have to manage the fatigue of the series while avoiding any injury that could jeopardize the future.

Michael Bartholemy
boss of the Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS team

This overseas tour is equally delicate for the men and women from the Total Group who supply the fuel. In the month of August, some 18,000 litres of gasoline, manufactured in the Total ACS research centre in Givors, which left the port of Rotterdam bound for Japan, Australia and Malaysia on three different ships. You have to anticipate any delays in shipping or possible customs clearance problems. Fortunately, we have a highly efficient logistics service that takes charge of everything.

Jacky Hutteau
head of the distribution of Elf fuel to the race circuit

Superbike World Championship Jerez

Harvest Time!

After winning in Spain, Kenan Sofuoglu has become the first Kawasaki rider to win a world championship this season. The Japanese manufacturer has also already secured both the manufacturer’s title in the Superbike and Supersport categories.

 

SOFUOGLU Kenan (TUR) Kawasaki Puccetti Racing Kawasaki ZX-6R Supersport  WSBK Lausitzring 2016 (Circuit Lausitzring)  16-18.09.2016  PSP / Mateusz Jagielski  www.photoPSP.com

The Races

Although he thought he’d win the title at Magny-Cours, because of an unfortunate fall Kenan Sofuoglu was forced to wait a while to achieve his aim. The Kawasaki rider caught up the lost time by winning masterfully in Spain. This success, the 38th of his career in Supersport, gives him his fifth world champion title. In Superbike, Jonathan Rea is right next to winning a new crown. In Jerez, the title-holder made it twice to the podium, as did Tom Sykes. The two riders shared the second and third places in the weekend’s races, both won by Chaz Davies.

The Championship

This means Kenan Sofuoglu won’t have to wait for the last race in Qatar to win his fifth title as World Supersport champion. The win in Jerez makes it the Turkish rider’s third title riding for Kawasaki. Randy Krummenacher was the only one who was still capable of posing a problem. But a fall early in the race when he was in the lead ruined the Swiss rider’s last hopes, leaving him now only three points ahead of Jules Cluzel. In Superbike, Jonathan Rea now leads Tom Sykes by forty-eight points. The reigning world champion only needs two points to keep his crown.

The Background

Kenan Sofuoglu was not the only one to be crowned champion in Jerez. The first race of the World Superbike weekend in Andalusia was all the Kawasaki rider needed to take the manufacturers’ world championship title, even before obtaining the same consecration in the Supersport category.

A just reward for the work done by the whole team and the performance of our two excellent riders.

Steve Guttridge
Manager of Kawasaki Racing Europe

This year, with one more race still to run in Qatar, the ZX-10R has already scored fourteen victories. Jonathan Rea and Tom Sykes have also made it to the podium thirty-eight times, eight times in a twin-win for the Kawasaki team.

We can be proud of what we have accomplished, winning the title in the first season with a new model demonstrates how it well it works.

Gim Roda,
Team Manager

A good sign for future times, because as Tom Sykes says:

We are still far from exploiting the full potential of our new machine.

An early warning for Kawasaki’s Team Green opponents next season.

Superbike World Championship France (Magny-Cours)

Kawasaki Supersport champion

The title of Supersport world champion can no longer escape one of the two Kawasaki riders. With two races to go, Kenan Sofuoglu is on the inside track to take a fifth crown.

 

The Races

After winning another pole position on Saturday afternoon, Kenan Sofuoglu no doubt thought he’d take the top step of the podium on Sunday at the Magny-Cours circuit to win his fifth world championship title.

Kenan Sofuoglu TUR Kawasaki ZX-6R  Kawasaki Puccetti Racing Supersport  WSBK Magny Cours 2016 (Circuit Magny Cours) 01-02/10.2016   PSP/ Lukasz Swiderek  www.photoPSP.com

I started in the lead and rode without really forcing myself, I increased the lead over my opponents, and then in the twelfth lap I fell without understanding why. Fortunately I still have two races in which to clinch my fifth title.

Kenan Sofuoglu

Fifth on the finish line after pointing in twelfth position early in the race, Randy Krummenacher is keeping the suspense alive. In Superbike, Jonathan Rea and Tom Sykes rode neck and neck in the two races of the weekend. The first took place on a drying track which forced both Kawasaki riders, starting with rain tires, to change tires along the way. Sykes managed to take third place on the podium while Rea had to settle for fourth. On Sunday afternoon, Jonathan took his revenge by beating his teammate. The two Kawasaki riders mounted together on the podium in a race won by Chaz Davies as the day before.

 

 

The Championship

Despite his Did Not Finish, Kenan Sofuoglu keeps his 42-point lead over Randy Krummenacher. Since the championship leader also has a 55-point lead over Jules Cluzel, the title of Supersport world champion can no longer escape one of the two Kawasaki riders. In Superbike, 48 points separate Jonathan Rea and Tom Sykes just before the French round of the World Superbike Championship. Tom Sykes has a 33-point lead over Chaz Davies.

 

 

The Background

After the World SBK and the World SSP 600, here’s the World SSP 300! This is the new competition that will take place next year in the Superbike world championship calendar alongside the premier-class and intermediate-class categories. Like Moto3 in relation to MotoGP, the World SSP category will be reserved for young riders and new 300 cm3 sports bikes that most manufacturers develop today, especially for the South-East Asian market. Kawasaki will be able to enter their Ninja 300 two-cylinder with a minimum weight limit of the order of 140 kg.

This new competition for riders aged 15 and older has been designed to find new talent. We also want the SSP 300 category to develop in all of the national championships, and not only in emerging countries.

Vito Ippolito
President of the International Motorcycling Federation

 

For the manufacturers, this new World SSP 300 category will obviously serve as a reservoir with the creation of genuine career pathways.

It means we’ll have an affordable series for young riders with a real lift to the Superbike class.

Javier Alonso
Executive Director of the World SBK

Championnat du monde Superbike Qatar

Rea champion, Kawasaki triomphe

Pratiquement assuré du titre en arrivant au Qatar, Jonathan Rea a logiquement coiffé sa seconde couronne de champion du monde. Tom Sykes complète le succès de l’équipe Kawasaki en s’assurant la deuxième place du classement général.

Les courses

N’ayant besoin que deux points pour être couronné, Jonathan Rea n’avait aucune raison de tenter le tout pour le tout lors du dernier round de la saison organisé sur le circuit de Losail. Le Britannique s’est donc contenté d’une deuxième place samedi après-midi, non sans avoir un peu plus tôt décroché la pole position, pour décrocher son deuxième titre de champion du monde d’affilée. Quatrième de la première course, Tom Sykes se retrouvait quant à lui sous la menace de Chaz Davies, vainqueur et bien décidé à déborder le pilote Kawasaki pour s’octroyer la deuxième place du championnat. Tout s’est donc joué dimanche, sur une course réduite à dix tours à la suite d’une trace d’huile ayant nécessité le drapeau rouge. Si Davies s’est de nouveau imposé, Sykes a pu compter sur le coup de main de son coéquipier qui lui a gentiment cédé la deuxième place. Les deux pilotes Kawasaki terminent ainsi la saison 2016 aux deux premières places du championnat du monde Superbike. En Supersport, Kenan Sofuoglu a laissé échappé la victoire six millièmes de seconde. Randy Krummenacher s’est lui classé cinquième.

Le championnat

Arrivé chez Kawasaki la saison dernière, Jonathan Rea décroche cette saison son second titre de champion du monde devant son coéquipier Tom Sykes. En montant de concert sur le dernier podium de l’année, les deux Britanniques permettent par ailleurs à Kawasaki de décrocher le titre constructeur avec 582 points inscrits, soit 65 de plus que le dauphin du constructeur japonais. Titré en arrivant au Qatar, Kenan Sofuoglu n’a lui rien pu faire pour aider Randy Krummenacher dans sa quête d’une place de vice-champion du monde Supersport. Le pilote suisse termine finalement à la troisième place du classement général à deux points du deuxième, le Français Jules Cluzel.

L’histoire

Moins de deux ans après avoir introduit en compétition la nouvelle ZX-10R, l’équipe Kawasaki a cette saison tout raflé. Titre pilote, titre constructeur et titre par équipe ! Trois couronnes de champion du monde bien méritées et un magnifique doublé de la part de Jonathan Rea et de Tom Sykes.

Il y a des moments magiques et celui-ci en est indéniablement un […] Voir deux de nos pilotes aux deux premières places du championnat en dit long sur leur investissement. Il va maintenant falloir continuer à travailler car je suis certain que l’an prochain la compétition sera encore plus relevée.

Guim Roda, le team manager des verts

Pour Steve Guttridge, le manager de l’entité Kawasaki Europe Racing, cette triple couronne récompense une fois encore le travail de toute une équipe.

Je dois tirer un grand de chapeau à nos deux pilotes mais aussi à toutes les personnes qui composent ce superbe team. Sans elles, rien ne serait possible.

Steve Guttridge

Championnat du monde MotoGP, Grand Prix de Malaisie

Miller enchaîne

Dixième en Australie, huitième en Malaisie, Jack Miller s’est remis dans le sens de la marche en cette fin de saison. De bon augure pour le prochain championnat MotoGP.

Les courses

Une fois de plus, la pluie est venue perturber le week-end du Grand Prix de Malaisie. Même si les températures étaient bien plus clémentes qu’à Phillip Island, les averses ont encore compliqué le travail des pilotes et de leurs équipes. Evitant les pièges comme il avait su le faire en Australie, devant son public, Jack Miller s’est de nouveau bagarré dans le top dix. Il franchit cette fois la ligne d’arrivée en huitième position et surtout premier pilote Honda.

Manquant de feeling sur le mouillé, Rabat n’a pu faire mieux que huitième. En Moto2, les deux pilotes du Team Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS ont brillé entre les gouttes. Longtemps leader de la course, Morbidelli ne s’est incliné que dans les derniers tours face au désormais double champion du monde Johann Zarco. Marquez s’est lui racheté de son difficile week-end australien en arrachant une belle septième place.

Le championnat

Grâce à sa nouvelle deuxième place, Morbidelli n’est plus désormais qu’à désormais qu’à six points de la troisième place du championnat, détenue par Alex Rins. Marquez remonte lui en douzième position. En MotoGP, Miller gagne une place, le voilà désormais dix-septième. Rabat glisse quant à lui à la vingt-et-unième place.

L’histoire

Je ne pensais pas que Johann allait attaquer comme ça en fin de course. Il aurait quand même pu rester derrière moi puisqu’une deuxième place lui suffisait pour le titre…

Franco Morbidelli

A l’arrivée du Grand Prix de Malaisie qu’il conclut sur une nouvelle deuxième place, sa quatrième depuis le début de la saison, Franco Morbidelli ne se départit pas de sa bonne humeur. Sympathique, le pilote du Team Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS qui vient d’enchaîner son quatrième podium de rang est aussi de plus en plus performant. Sociétaire de la VR46 Academy, l’Italien est un élève apprécié par le maître Valentino Rossi.

Franco n’est plus très loin de la victoire, assure le nonuple champion du monde. C’est un jeune pilote plein de talent et travailleur. Dès qu’il aura gagné son premier Grand Prix, il s’installera dans une nouvelle dynamique. Il a tous les atouts pour devenir dès l’an prochain un candidat au titre de champion du monde Moto2.

Valentino Rossi

Pour l’heure, Franco aimerait bien prendre l’avantage sur Rins lors de la prochaine course à Valence pour s’octroyer la troisième place du classement général.

MotoGP : Grand Prix d’Australie (Phillip Island)

Morbidelli à un centième de la victoire

En tête à la sortie du dernier virage du circuit de Phillip Island, Franco Morbidelli s’est fait souffler sur la ligne d’arrivée sa première victoire en Grand Prix. Ce n’est que partie remise.

 

FRANCO MORBIDELLI ITA  ESTRELLA GALICIA 0,0 MARC VDS  KALEX Moto2  GP Australia 2016 (Circuit Phillip Island) 21-23/10.2016   PSP/ Lukasz Swiderek  www.photoPSP.com

Les courses

Cette fois, Franco Morbidelli était tout près de monter sur la première marche du podium. Après deux journées d’essais compliquées et quelques chutes qui n’ont finalement pas réussi à ébranler sa confiance, le pilote italien a réalisé un Grand Prix d’Australie presque parfait. En tête à la sortie du dernier virage, Morbidelli s’est malheureusement fait souffler la victoire par Tom Lüthi.

L’expérience a parlé, mais on ne peut rien reprocher à Franco, il a très bien roulé et je suis certain que sa première victoire n’est plus très loin.

Michael Bartholemy

Son coéquipier n’a pour sa part pas pris le départ. Victime aux essais d’une grosse chute après avoir percuté Julian Simon qui était tombé en panne d’essence, Alex Marquez a passé la nuit de samedi à dimanche à l’hôpital de Melbourne. De retour sur le circuit pour le warm up malgré de vives douleurs au dos et à l’abdomen, l’Espagnol souffrait trop pour disputer la course. En MotoGP, Jack Miller a obtenu une belle dixième place alors que Tito Rabat a échoué en seizième position, à la porte des points.

 Le championnat

Avec vingt points empochés en Australie, Franco Morbidelli se hisse à la quatrième place du championnat Moto2. Ayant dû déclarer forfait, Marquez glisse lui en quatorzième position. Pas de changements en MotoGP. Miller et Rabat se maintiennent aux dix-huitième et vingtième places.

 L’histoire

Cette fois, Jack Miller a été à la hauteur. Devant ses supporters, le pilote du Team Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS a parfaitement géré la pression de son Grand Prix national et réalisé sans nul doute son meilleur week-end depuis sa victoire aux Pays-Bas. Une performance d’autant plus méritoire que les conditions étaient particulièrement exécrables le week-end dernier à Phillip Island. Un froid polaire, des averses incessantes et des rafales de vent infernales.

C’était très compliqué, Surtout aux essais car l’état de la piste changeait sans arrêt. Il fallait avoir les bons pneus au bon moment.

Jack Miller

Cinquième sur la grille, Jack a signé sa meilleure qualification de la saison. Et en course, il s’est battu jusqu’au dernier tour pour la septième place en compagnie de pilotes tels que Bradley Smith, Scott Redding, Danilo Petrucci ou encore Stefan Bradl. Parti avec un pneu avant qu’il n’avait pas eu le temps d’évaluer aux essais, l’Australien a régalé le public en rendant coup pour coup à ses adversaires.

L’important était de franchir la ligne d’arrivée avec quelques points et j’y suis parvenu.

Jack Miller

Superbike – Grand Prix d’Espagne (Jerez)

La moisson a commencé

Vainqueur en Espagne, Kenan Sofuoglu est le premier pilote Kawasaki champion du monde de la saison. Le constructeur japonais s’est par ailleurs déjà assuré les titres constructeurs Superbike et Supersport.

SOFUOGLU Kenan (TUR) Kawasaki Puccetti Racing Kawasaki ZX-6R Supersport  WSBK Lausitzring 2016 (Circuit Lausitzring)  16-18.09.2016  PSP / Mateusz Jagielski  www.photoPSP.com

Les courses

Alors qu’il pensait décrocher le titre à Magny-Cours, Kenan Sofuoglu avait été contraint reporter son objectif à cause d’une malheureuse chute. Le pilote Kawasaki s’est rattrapé en Espagne en s’imposant de main de maître. Ce succès, le 38e de sa carrière en Supersport, lui permet de décrocher son cinquième titre de champion du monde. En Superbike, Jonathan Rea est lui aussi tout près d’une nouvelle couronne. A Jerez, le tenant du titre est monté à deux reprises sur le podium, tout comme Tom Sykes. Les deux pilotes se sont partagés les deuxièmes et troisièmes places des deux courses du week-end, remportées par Chaz Davies.

Le championnat

Kenan Sofuoglu n’aura donc pas attendu la dernière course au Qatar pour coiffer sa cinquième couronne de champion du monde Supersport. Vainqueur à Jerez, le pilote turc remporte son troisième titre sous les couleurs Kawasaki. Randy Krummenacher était le seul à pouvoir encore l’inquiéter. Une chute en début de course, alors qu’il était en tête, a ruiné les derniers espoirs du pilote suisse qui ne compte plus que trois points d’avance sur Jules Cluzel. En Superbike, Jonathan Rea devance désormais Tom Sykes de quarante-huit points. Le champion du monde en titre n’a plus besoin que deux points pour conserver sa couronne.

L’histoire

Kenan Sofuoglu n’a pas été le seul à se voir couronné à Jerez. La première course de ce week-end de Mondial Superbike en Andalousie a en effet suffi à Kawasaki pour décrocher le titre de champion du monde des constructeurs, avant même d’obtenir le même sacre en Supersport.

Une juste récompense pour le travail accompli par toute l’équipe et pour les performances de nos deux excellents pilotes.

Steve Guttridge
Manager de Kawasaki Europe Racing

.Cette année, et alors qu’il reste encore une épreuve à disputer au Qatar, la ZX-10R a déjà remporté quatorze victoires. Jonathan Rea et Tom Sykes sont par ailleurs monté à trente-huit reprises sur le podium, dont huit fois en assurant le doublé pour l’équipe Kawasaki.

Nous pouvons être fiers de ce que nous avons accompli, gagner le titre dès la première saison avec un nouveau modèle démontre combien celui-ci est performant.

Gim Roda
Team manager

De bon augure pour la suite, car comme le dit Tom Sykes :

Nous sommes encore loin d’exploiter tout le potentiel de notre nouvelle machine.

Voilà les adversaires des verts prévenus pour la saison prochaine.

MotoGP – Grand Prix du Japon

Morbidelli enchaîne

Comme à Alcañiz il y a trois semaines, Franco Morbidelli est à nouveau monté sur le podium Moto2 au Japon. Tito Rabat a lui retrouvé les points en MotoGP.

 

FRANCO MORBIDELLI ITA  ESTRELLA GALICIA 0,0 MARC VDS  KALEX Moto2  GP Japan 2016 (Circuit Twin Ring Motegi) 14-16/10.2016   PSP/ Lukasz Swiderek  www.photoPSP.com

Les courses

En terminant troisième comme lors de la dernière course en Aragon, Morbidelli a obtenu au Japon son cinquième podium en huit courses. Une série de résultats qui confirme la montée en puissance du pilote de l’équipe Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS. Parti de la première ligne, Morbidelli a roulé un bon moment derrière Lüthi, futur vainqueur, avant de devoir laisser la deuxième place à Zarco. Attaqué en fin de course par Nakagami, l’Italien a immédiatement répliqué pour conserver son podium. En quête lui aussi de son second podium de rang, Alex Marquez est malheureusement tombé en début de course alors qu’il venait de s’emparer de la septième place. En MotoGP, Tito Rabat a terminé quatorzième après deux Grands Prix à l’issue desquels il n’avait pu inscrire le moindre point. Moins de réussite en revanche pour Jack Miller qui revenait à la compétition après de longues semaines d’absence. L’Australien a chuté au septième tour alors qu’il espérait finir dans le top dix.

Le championnat

Profitant de son podium et de la chute de Sam Lowes, Franco Morbidelli n’est plus qu’à cinq points de la quatrième place du championnat Moto2. Marquez perd en revanche une place au classement général, le voilà désormais treizième. En MotoGP, Rabat se maintient en vingtième position alors que Miller glisse à la dix-huitième place.

L’histoire

Avec le Grand Prix du Japon, les équipes du championnat du monde MotoGP entament une série de trois courses en trois semaines qui, après Motegi, va les conduire en Australie puis en Malaisie.

« Une intense séquence tout aussi excitante que compliquée à négocier ; Il faut en effet gérer la fatigue de cet enchaînement tout en évitant la blessure qui pourrait compromettre la suite. »

Michael Bartholemy
Patron de l’équipe Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS.

Délicate, cette tournée outremer l’est aussi pour les hommes du groupe Total qui assurent la fourniture du carburant. Dès le mois d’août, ce sont effet 18 000 litres d’essence, fabriquées dans le centre de recherche Total ACS à Givors, qui ont quitté le port de Rotterdam pour rejoindre le Japon, l’Australie et la Malaisie sur trois bateaux différents.

« Il faut anticiper d’éventuels retard dans le transport maritime ou encore de possibles problèmes de dédouanement, explique . Heureusement, nous disposons pour cela d’un service de logistique très performant. »

Jacky Hutteau,
en charge de la distribution du carburant Elf sur le circuit

Championnat du monde Superbike France – Magny Cours

Kawasaki champion Supersport

Le titre de champion du monde Supersport ne peut plus désormais échapper à l’un des deux pilotes Kawasaki. Avec encore deux courses à disputer, c’est Kenan Sofuoglu qui tient la corde pour coiffer une cinquième couronne.

Les courses

Après avoir décroché samedi après-midi une nouvelle pole position, Kenan Sofuoglu pensait bien monter dimanche sur la plus haute marche du podium du circuit de Magny-Cours afin de décrocher son cinquième titre de champion du monde.

Kenan Sofuoglu TUR Kawasaki ZX-6R  Kawasaki Puccetti Racing Supersport  WSBK Magny Cours 2016 (Circuit Magny Cours) 01-02/10.2016   PSP/ Lukasz Swiderek  www.photoPSP.com

Je suis parti en tête et je roulais vraiment sans forcer, je creusais l’écart sur mes adversaires, et puis au douzième tour je suis tombé sans comprendre pourquoi. Il me reste heureusement encore deux courses pour décrocher ce cinquième titre.

Kenan Sofuoglu

Cinquième sur la ligne d’arrivée après avoir pointé en douzième position en début de course, Randy Krummenacher entretient ainsi le suspense.

En Superbike, Jonathan Rea et Tom Sykes ne sont pas quittés durant les deux courses du week-end. La première s’est déroulée sur une piste séchante qui a contraint les deux pilotes Kawasaki, partis en pneus pluie, à changer de gommes en cours de route. Sykes a réussi à obtenir la troisième marche du podium tandis que Rea a dû se contenter de la quatrième place. Dimanche après-midi, Jonathan a pris sa revanche en devançant son coéquipier. Les deux pilotes Kawasaki sont montés de concert sur le podium d’une course remportée comme la veille par Chaz Davies.

Le championnat

Malgré son résultat blanc, Kenan Sofuoglu conserve 42 points d’avance sur Randy Krummenacher. Le leader du championnat possédant par ailleurs 55 points d’avance sur Jules Cluzel, le titre de champion du monde Supersport ne peut plus échapper à l’un des deux pilotes Kawasaki. En Superbike, ce sont 48 points qui séparent Jonathan Rea et Tom Sykes au soir de l’épreuve française du championnat du monde Superbike. Ce dernier précède Chaz Davies de 33 points.

L’histoire

Après le World SBK et le World SSP 600, voici le World SSP 300 ! C’est cette nouvelle compétition qui prendra place l’an prochain au calendrier du championnat du monde Superbike aux côtés de la classe reine et de la catégorie intermédiaire. A l’image de ce qu’est le Moto3 au MotoGP, la catégorie World SSP sera réservée aux jeunes pilotes et aux nouvelles sportives de 300 cm3 que la plupart des constructeurs développent aujourd’hui, notamment pour le marché de l’Asie du sud-est. Kawasaki pourra ainsi engager son bicylindre Ninja 300 avec une limite de poids minimum de l’ordre de 140 kg.

Cette nouvelle compétition qui sera accessible dès l’âge de quinze ans sera destinée à dénicher de nouveaux talents. Nous souhaitons par ailleurs que cette catégorie SSP 300 se développe dans l’ensemble des championnats nationaux. Et pas uniquement dans les pays émergents.

Vito Ippolito
Président de la Fédération Internationale de Motocyclisme

Pour les constructeurs, cette nouvelle catégorie World SSP 300 pourra bien évidemment servir de réservoir avec la création de véritables filières.

Nous aurons ainsi une série abordable pour de jeunes pilotes avec un véritable ascenseur vers la catégorie Superbike.

Javier Alonso,
Directeur Exécutif du World SBK.