MotoGP – Grand Prix of Qatar, 20 March, 2016

Kick off in Doha

The first Grand Prix of the 2016 season lived up to expectations with with races fought all the way to the finishing line. While Jack Miller and Tito Rabat did not have it easy in MotoGP, Franco Morbidelli stole the show in Moto2.

MORBIDELLI Franco (ITA) EG 0,0 Marc VDS Kalex Moto2  Grand Prix Qatar (Circuit Losail) 17-20.03.2016 PSP / Mateusz Jagielski www.photoPSP.com

PSP / Mateusz Jagielski

The Races

Struggling in the MotoGP free practice sessions as well as during the qualifying session with a bike he found difficult to turn, Jack Miller and Tito Rabat limited the damage done during the race, both of them scoring points. Respectively fourteenth and fifteenth to take the checkered flag, the two riders of the Team Estrella Galicia did a good job. Miller could have even finished ahead of Laverty and Bautista if it were not for a small mistake in the last lap.

“The positive point is that my injured leg was not a problem during the twenty-two laps.”

Jack Miller

In Moto2, Franco Morbidelli made the show by fighting for victory from start to finish for his first race wearing Total colours. In the fight with Lüthi, the Italian took the checkered flag in second position before being demoted to seventh with a twenty-second penalty for jumping the start, as did seven of his opponents. Distracted by the confusion of the start, Alex Marquez fell early in the race.

The Championship

Whereas Marquez got nothing in Qatar, Morbidelli, Miller and Rabat all began their 2016 campaign by taking place in the standings. Morbidelli left Doha in seventh place in the Moto2 championship, while in MotoGP Miller and Rabat hold fourteenth and fifteenth positions respectively.

The Background

Moto2 World Champion in 2013, third in the overall classification of the intermediate-class championship last year, Tito Rabat is making his MotoGP debut this season. With only three test sessions this winter, the rider of Team Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS unfortunately has not had much time to prepare for his new challenge.

“It is all the more regrettable because Tito is a rider who needs to ride a lot,”

Michael Bartholemy, Team manager

To make matters worse, the Honda rider has to cope with a RC213V that is still not fully developed at the beginning of the season. Adapting to the new Michelin tires and the unique electronic management system is creating problems for the Japanese engineers.

“All winter, we’ve been going around in circles to get our bearings,”

explained the only rookie this year in the premier class.

“I’m not yet fully confident in the front tire and the bike is difficult to turn”.

Struggling during the free practice sessions of his first MotoGP Grand Prix, Tito Rabat still managed to finish in the points.

“A just reward for all his efforts,”

Michael Bartholemy, Team manager

Superbike World Championship – Thailand, 12/13 March, 2016

Won by Two

Jonathan Rea and Tom Sykes shared the wins on the Buriram circuit. The two Kawasaki riders now hold the first two places in the standings.

The Races

After clocking in the same lap time to within one hundredth of a second during the qualifying session, Jonathan Rea and Tom Sykes were unable to settle the score during the races. The two Kawasaki riders each took a chequered flag. During the first round, Rea let his teammate take the lead for a good fifteen laps before attacking, and Sykes was unable to get it back.

photo cr

The next day, the reigning world champion tried his luck three laps earlier but Sykes stood firm and crossed the finish line first.

“In the first race I saw where Jonathan was faster than me,”

said Sykes.

“I knew where he’d try to overtake me in the second and I made sure he wasn’t able to. We also improved the behaviour of the bike between the two races.”

The Championship

With three wins and a second place in four races, Jonathan Rea is holding his own. The reigning world champion has even increased his lead in the overall standings of the Superbike World Championship since he now has a twenty-nine point lead over his teammate. Thanks to his second place in the first race and after winning the second, Tom Sykes has moved up four places.

The Background

Last year, Sykes had to wait until May to win a race. This season he’s in a much better position to challenge the supremacy of his teammate.

“I feel much better on the bike this year,”

said the Kawasaki rider.

“With the lighter weight of the crankshaft, the character of the engine is much more suited to my style of riding.”

For Marcel Duinker, his chief engineer, the 2013 world champion will be much harder to beat this season than last year.

“We’ve returned to specifications close to those that we used up until 2014,”

said the Dutch technician.

“Our engine has less inertia and the bike pushes much less during braking. It means Tom can brake harder before revving the bike back up to speed.”

The results show they’re right on course.

MotoGP – Grand Prix du Qatar, 20 mars 2016

Coup d’envoi à Doha

Le premier Grand Prix de la saison 2016  a tenu ses promesses avec des courses aussi disputées qu’indécises. Si Jack Miller et Tito Rabat n’ont pas eu la partie facile en MotoGP, Franco Morbidelli a crevé l’écran en Moto2.

MORBIDELLI Franco (ITA) EG 0,0 Marc VDS Kalex Moto2  Grand Prix Qatar (Circuit Losail) 17-20.03.2016 PSP / Mateusz Jagielski www.photoPSP.com
PSP / Mateusz Jagielski

Les courses

En difficulté aux essais libres comme lors de la séance de qualification MotoGP avec une moto ayant du mal à tourner, Jack Miller et Tito Rabat ont limité les dégâts en course en terminant l’un et l’autre dans les points. Quatorzième et quinzième sous le drapeau à damier, les deux pilotes du Team Estrella Galicia n’ont pas démérité. Miller aurait même pu finir devant Laverty et Baustista sans une petite erreur dans le dernier tour.

« Le point positif,  c’est que ma jambe blessée ne m’a posé aucun problème durant les vingt-deux tours de course. »

Jack Miller

En Moto2, c’est Franco Morbidelli qui a fait le spectacle en se bagarrant pour la victoire de bout en bout de son premier Grand Prix sous les couleurs Total. A la lutte avec Lüthi, l’Italien est passé sous le drapeau à damier en deuxième position avant d’être rétrogradé à la septième place en écopant de vingt secondes de pénalité pour avoir anticipé le départ. Comme sept de ses adversaires. Déconcentré par la confusion du départ, Alex Marquez est lui tombé en début de course.

Le championnat

Si Marquez a fait chou blanc au Qatar, Morbidelli, Miller et Rabat ont tous les trois entamé leur campagne 2016 en prenant place dans le classement général. Morbidelli repart de Doha à la septième place du championnat Moto2 alors qu’en MotoGP Miller et Rabat pointent respectivement en quatorzième et quinzième positions.

L’histoire

Champion du monde Moto2 en 2013, troisième du classement général de la classe intermédiaire des Grands Prix l’an dernier, Tito Rabat effectue cette saison ses grands débuts en MotoGP. Avec seulement trois séances de tests hivernaux, le pilote du Team Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS n’a malheureusement pas eu énormément de temps pour se préparer à ce nouveau challenge.

« D’autant que Tito est un pilote qui a besoin de faire beaucoup de kilomètres »

Michel Bartholemy, Team Manager

Pour ne rien arranger, le pilote Honda doit composer en ce début de saison avec une RC213V pas encore totalement au point. En effet, l’adaptation aux pneus Michelin et au nouveau logiciel de gestion électronique unique n’est pas sans poser problème aux ingénieurs japonais.

« Depuis cet hiver, on tourne un peu en rond pour prendre nos marques,

avance le seul débutant présent cette année en classe reine.

J’ai du mal à prendre confiance dans le pneu avant et la moto est difficile à faire tourner. »

A la peine lors des essais de son premier Grand Prix MotoGP, Tito Rabat a tout de même réussi à rallier l’arrivée dans les points.

« Une juste récompense pour tous les efforts qu’il a déployés »

Michel Bartholemy, Team Manager

Championnat du monde Superbike – Thaïlande, 12/13 mars 2016

Une victoire chacun

Jonathan Rea et Tom Sykes se sont partagé les victoires sur le circuit de Buriram. Les deux pilotes Kawasaki pointent désormais aux deux premières place du classement général.

Les courses

Après avoir réalisé le même chrono, au centième de seconde près, lors de la séance de qualification, Jonathan Rea et Tom Sykes n’ont pas réussi à se départager en course. Les deux pilotes Kawasaki ont en effet raflé une victoire chacun. Lors de la première manche,

photo cr

Rea a laissé son coéquipier en tête une bonne quinzaine de tours avant de passer à l’attaque. Celui-ci n’a jamais été en mesure de répliquer. Le lendemain, le champion du monde en titre a tenté sa chance trois tours plus tôt, mais Sykes a résisté pour franchir en tête la ligne d’arrivée.

« J’ai vu pendant la première course où Jonathan était plus vite que moi, a expliqué Sykes. Je savais où il essaierait à nouveau de s’imposer dans la seconde et j’ai fait en sorte qu’il n’y parvienne pas. On a également amélioré le comportement de la moto entre les deux courses. »

Le championnat

Trois victoires et une deuxième place en quatre courses, Jonathan Rea tient son rang. Le champion du monde en titre augmente même son avance au classement général du championnat du monde Superbike puisqu’il compte désormais vingt-neuf points d’avance sur son coéquipier. Grâce à sa deuxième place en première manche, et à sa victoire dans la seconde, Tom Sykes gagne quatre positions.

L’histoire

L’an dernier, Sykes avait dû patienter jusqu’au mois de mai pour gagner une course. Le voilà aujourd’hui en bien meilleure posture pour contester la suprématie de son coéquipier

« Je suis beaucoup mieux cette année sur la moto, explique le pilote Kawasaki. Avec des masses de vilebrequin plus légères, son caractère moteur correspond beaucoup mieux à mon pilotage. »

Pour Marcel Duinker, son chef mécanicien, le champion du monde 2013 sera cette saison beaucoup plus performant que l’an passé.

« On est revenu à des spécifications proches de celles que nous avions jusqu’en 2014, dit le technicien hollandais. Notre moteur a moins d’inertie et la moto pousse moins au freinage. Tom peut freiner plus fort avant de la faire tourner pour accélérer. » Le résultat est là.