Suzuka Eight Hours (Japan) 26 July, 2015

An early end 

Despite their elation about returning to Japan to take part in the Suzuka 8 Hours, the SRC Kawasaki team did not reap the rewards they expected. Far from it. A fall shortly after the halfway mark put an early end to the dreams of Gilles Stafler’s team.

Having managed to find the budget this year to complete the full Endurance World Championship, Gilles Stafler was eagerly looking forward to the Suzuka 8 Hours.

Although the prestige event

is organized on the Japanese manufacturers’ home turf, the official Kawasaki team had not taken part in the race for twenty years. Their participation was cut short, due to tires outclassed by the competition.

cr

Grégory Leblanc, Fabien Foret and Matthieu Lagrive

were in an unexpected seventh place when the first of the three men fell at the end of his stint.

“The fifth hour of the race was approaching and I still had five laps to go,” said Leblanc. “I wasn’t riding the bike too hard because since the beginning of the weekend we knew we couldn’t expect much with our tires. And then the same thing happened as during the practice test sessions: the front gave way without warning. The bike turned cartwheels in the gravel, and was too damaged for me to get back on.”

The retirement was a terrible disappointment for Gilles Stafler.

“With four falls during the weekend, we’re leaving Suzuka with two wrecks,” groaned the SRC Kawasaki team manager. “It’s really annoying because we were never been able to use the bike, because our Pirelli tires are totally unsuitable for this track. There were no tests organized upstream, so we had to make with what we had. We tried everything, even very soft fork springs to make the bike less reactive, but nothing worked. You can have the best bike and the fastest riders in the world, if you don’t have the right tires there’s nothing you can do. We’re going to have to react before the next race in Germany.”

Hungarian Grand Prix (Hungaroring) 26 July, 2015

TOP-3 FINISHES FOR  KVYAT AND RICCIARDO

The Infiniti Red Bull Racing drivers fill second and third places at the Hungaroring behind Sebastian Vettel.

cr

Vettel scores his second 2015 victory!

Ferrari and Sebastian Vettel, (who now has 41 wins to his name equalling Ayrton Senna) scored their second victory of the 2015 season. The Scuderia looked on course to clinch its first double since the 2010 German Grand Prix until Kimi Räikkönen was forced to retire because of a failure of the MGU-K. 

The RB11s put on a thrilling show

Danill Kvyat took the chequered flag in second place, his best-ever result in his F1 career. Daniel Ricciardo, who was lying second a few laps from the end, fell back to third after a coming-together with Rosberg. 

A race to forget for Mercedes!

The end of the run: the German manufacturer arrived in Hungary after a string of 29 consecutive top-3 finishes. But it was a black Sunday for the three-pointed star. Lewis Hamilton had to make do with sixth after an off-track excursion at the start, a pit stop that went on for ever and a penalty. Nico Rosberg seemed to have wrapped up second place, but he finally saw the flag in eighth spot after tagging Daniel Ricciardo. 

Daniil Kvyat (Infiniti Red Bull Racing): 

it’s been a very tough year, race, everything, but I think as a team we all deserve this podium very much. After Turn One I thought my race was over to be honest, because I had such a massive flat spot I could hardly stay on track. But then the team told me to keep pushing. Today I really learned what it means to never give up because it can always come your way.”

 Next round: Belgium GP (23 August)

Grand Prix USA (Laguna Seca), 18-19 JULY 2015

Sykes and Rea make the podium

While Chaz Davies won both races of the American weekend, Tom Sykes and Jonathan Rea made it to the podium twice and together in Laguna Seca. Note that this year once again, only the Superbike riders made the trip to California.

The Races

The only rider of the Superbike 2015 line-up to have already won at Laguna Seca before this weekend, Tom Sykes had two very good races and made it twice to the second step of the podium. If he was unable do anything to keep up with Chaz Davies in great shape on the California track, the Brit still managed to hold off his teammate’s assaults until the finish line.

“I’m a little disappointed not to have managed to win today,” commented 2013 world champion, “but I was still missing a little something today. In the first race, I found myself struggling with my rear tire in the final laps, and in the second Chaz managed to take a few more risks when the rain started to fall.”

With two third places, Jonathan Rea signed his worst performance of the season. Still, the Championship leader racked up his nineteenth podium in a row, bringing him a little closer to the record held by Colin Edwards since 2002 with his series of twenty-five podiums in a row.

20150601113148-94406397

The Championship

Although beaten twice by his teammate, Jonathan Rea still keeps his solid first place in the overall standings. With only four races left, the Kawasaki rider has a 125-point lead over Tom Sykes, while Sykes sees his lead over Davies increase to 19 points. As for the manufacturers’ title, Kawasaki is still in the lead with an advantage of 122 points. The next meeting will be on August 2, at the Sepang circuit in Malaysia.

The Background

The 2013 season was marked by the transfer of power between the MotoGP and Superbike championships in California. The last Grand Prix races were held two years ago on the Laguna Seca circuit, which was included in the WSBK calendar the same year, after a long absence of ten seasons. On the eve of the two legs won on July 19, 2015 by Chaz Davies, twenty World Superbike races had already been held on the California track located near the town of Monterey. The first part between 1995 and 2005, a second between 2013 and 2015. With nine wins against seven for the Americans, the Australians riders have often been most at ease on the unusually twisting Laguna Seca circuit. The Brits are now in third place with four wins.

 

Rallye of Portugal (Vila Real) 12 July, 2015

Lopez consolidates his lead – Ma scores his second win 

In Portugal the Citroën Total team dominated proceedings. The Argentinean world no. 1 won the first race and his Chinese team-mate scored another victory in the second.

AUTO - WTCC

Pechito shows who’s the boss!

The reigning world champion scored his fourth pole position of the season. While Sébastien Loeb, alongside him on the front row, looked like he might give the Argentinean a run for his money, it was never the case and Jean Maria Lopez went on to clinch his sixth victory in 2015. In race 2 he finished his fifth consolidating his lead in the world championship. 

Ma scores no. 2

Last year, Ma Qing Hua made motor racing history by becoming the first Chinese driver to win a race in an FIA world championship when he triumphed in Russia. In Villa Real he scored his second victory in the WTCC in race 2 in front of another Citroën C-Elysées driven by Frenchman, Yvan Muller. 

Yves Matton, Team Principal Citroën Racing:

“We end this first long portion of the season with everything looking strong; 14 victories in 16 races, our four drivers leading the World Championship and a nice lead for Citroën in the manufacturers standings… We are delighted with the performance of Ma Qing Hua, who solidified this increase in performance with a win. Our four drivers have all won this season, and we can head to the Asian swing with confidence.”

Next Round: Japan (Motegi, 11 – 13 September)

Grand Prix of Germany (Sachsenring) 12 July, 2015

Frustration on the ring

The German Grand Prix wasn’t the time or place for the riders of the Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS Team. Redding and Rabat crashed, and Marquez finished without scoring any points.

SCOTT REDDING GBR

The Races

Scott Redding would have liked to have finished in the top eight to end the difficult first half of this season’s MotoGP Championship. Despite his fourteenth place on the starting grid, the Brit seemed to have the pace to keep up with the pack. An unfortunate fall before the end of the first lap put an end to his ambitions.

“As soon as I released the brakes, the front eased up and I lost control,” said Redding. “I tried my best to recover the bike, but there was nothing I could do. I’m really disappointed because we hoped we would achieve something on this circuit.”

Rabat meanwhile seemed capable of making the Moto2 podium – until Franco Morbidelli decided otherwise. While trying to overtake Tito as they braked into the last corner, the Italian lost control of his motorcycle, which then harpooned the Kalex of the Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS team rider.

 “I didn’t have a chance,” groused Rabat. “It’s really annoying because I was suffering from my shoulder to make the podium. Thankfully I have a good three weeks to recover before the next race in Indianapolis.”

Victim of two falls during the practice test sessions, Alex Marquez took the start but lacked confidence. Manhandled during the early laps, he still managed to climb his way back to the eighteenth spot. 

The Championship

With a third Did Not Finish to end the first half of the championship, Scott Redding has slipped back to fourteenth place overall in the MotoGP standings. In Moto2, Rabat has kept his second place, but the Spaniard is now sixty-five points behind the leader, Johann Zarco.

Finishing without scoring any points for the second time this season, Alex Marquez has slipped back to eighteenth place in the championship. 

The Background

Since the 2014 Spanish Grand Prix in Jerez, Tito Rabat had never been more than sixth on the starting grid. A poor performance for the Moto2 World Championship title holder? Certainly not if you remember that on Saturday he was only 0.463 seconds behind Johann Zarco, who took pole position, and one week earlier, was on the operating table to have a titanium plate screwed into his right collarbone. On 4 July, the Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS Team rider suffered a heavy fall while training in Almeria. A technical hitch on entering the first corner of the Spanish circuit made him smash his collarbone into five pieces.

“I was lucky enough to be taken care of immediately,” he explained. “I was quickly evacuated to Barcelona University Hospital where Dr. Mir was able to operate on me the same evening.”

Two days later, the Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS Team rider resumed training to prepare for the German Grand Prix. A courage and determination that unfortunately gained him little reward…

 

Poland Rally, 5 July, 2015

MEEKE AND OSTBERG FINISH IN THE TOP 10 

Sébastien Ogier wins again. The DS 3 WRCs come home in seventh and ninth places.

AUTO - WRC

Citroën holds its own

Kris Meeke’s rally got off to a terrible start as he had a big shunt during the shakedown. However, the Citroën Total Abu Dhabi World Rally Team were able to rebuild his DS 3 and the Northern Irish was a consistent top-5 runner before slipping back to seventh. Mads Ostberg had problems matching the pace of the front-runners. Thanks to the points it scored this weekend the French team still holds second place in the championship. 

Ogier racks up no.5

Whatever his starting position the world no.1 was on another planet in Poland and consolidated his leadership with his fifth victory in the seven events held so far this year. 

Tanak’s outstanding drive

Ott Tanak prevented Volkswagen from scoring a triple with an outstanding drive which gave him his first top-3 finish of the season. 

Yves Matton (Citroën Racing Team Principal):

“We can’t be especially pleased with the actual result at this year’s Rally Poland. Perhaps we underestimated the impact that not organising specific, pre-event testing would have on this rally. We’ll now focus on preparing for Rally Finland, an event where our drivers have already shown that they are capable of producing good performances. We’ll head for Jyvaskyla to try and fight for a good result!”

 Next round: Finland Rally (30 July – 2 August)

British Grand Prix (Silverstone) – 5 July, 2015

KVYAT BACK IN THE GAME 

Infiniti Red Bull Racing had to make do with its Russian driver’s sixth place while Lewis Hamilton won on home turf.

KVYAT daniil (rus) red bull renault rb11 action during the 2015 Formula One World Championship, Grand Prix of England

Not too far from the top 3

The Red Bull RB11s’ new aero package for Silverstone gave them wings as both cars made it into Q3. If Daniil Kvyat hadn’t spun on his way back to the pits when it began to rain he could have taken the fight to Sebastian Vettel for third place. His teammate Daniel Ricciardo was forced to retire. 

The King of Silverstone

Lewis Hamilton started from pole and clinched his third win in his home grand prix from Nico Rosberg. Although Mercedes scored another double they had to fight for it as the very quick Williams put the silver cars under heavy pressure in the early stages of the race, until they fell back when it began to rain. 

Alonso scores a point – at last!

Fernando Alonso finished tenth scoring his first point for McLaren in the 2015 F1 world championship. Roman Grosjean had another unsuccessful weekend and didn’t add any points to his tally.    

Christian Horner (Infiniti Red Bull Racing – Team Principal):

“For the first time since Monaco, it felt we were in the race. Overall, it’s been a positive weekend and the car has made a forward step, We take heart from this weekend as it’s been encouraging. Throughout practice and the grand prix we have looked a lot more competitive and Hungary represents a better opportunity for us. It’s great to see flashes of real potential there.”

 Next round: Hungarian GP (26 July)

Huit Heures de Suzuka (Japon) – 26 juillet 2015

Une fin prématurée

Alors qu’il se faisait une joie de retrouver le Japon pour participer aux Huit Heures de Suzuka, le team SRC Kawasaki n’y a pas récolté le résultat escompté. Loin de là. Une chute peu après la mi-course a mis en effet un terme prématuré aux ambitions des hommes de Gilles Stafler.

Ayant cette année réussi à trouver le budget pour boucler l’intégralité du championnat du monde d’Endurance, Gilles Stafler attendait avec impatience les Huit Heures de Suzuka.

Une épreuve prestigieuse,

organisée sur les terres des constructeurs japonais, et à laquelle l’équipe Kawasaki officielle n’avait plus participé depuis une vingtaine d’années. L’aventure a tourné court à cause de pneumatiques surclassés par la concurrence.

cr

Grégory Leblanc, Fabien Foret et Matthieu Lagrive

occupaient une inespérée septième place quand le premier des trois hommes est tombé à la fin de son relais.

« On approchait la cinquième heure de course et il me restait cinq tours à couvrir, raconte Leblanc. Je roulais sans forcer car depuis le début du week-end nous savions que nous ne pouvions pas espérer grand chose avec nos pneus. Et puis comme cela nous était déjà arrivé aux essais, l’avant a décroché, sans prévenir. La moto est partie en tonneaux dans les graviers, et elle était beaucoup trop abîmée pour que je puisse repartir. »

Un abandon synonyme de terrible déception pour Gilles Stafler :

 « Après quatre chutes dans le week-end, nous repartons de Suzuka avec deux épaves, déplore le manager du team SRC Kawasaki. C’est vraiment rageant car nous n’avons jamais pu exploiter la moto à cause de nos Pirelli totalement inadaptés à cette piste. Il n’y a pas eu d’essais organisés en amont, et nous avons donc dû composer avec ce que nous avions à notre disposition. On a tout essayé, même des ressorts de fourche très souples pour rendre la moto moins réactive, mais rien n’a fonctionné. Tu peux avoir la meilleure moto et les pilotes les plus rapides au monde, si tu n’as pas les pneus, il n’y a rien à faire. Il va maintenant falloir réagir d’ici la prochaine course en Allemagne. »

Grand Prix de Hongrie (Hungaroring) du 26 juillet 2015

LE PODIUM POUR KVYAT ET RICCIARDO

Les pilotes Infiniti Red Bull Racing prennent les deuxième et troisième places derrière Sebastian Vettel sur le Hungaroring.

cr

Et de deux pour Vettel !

Deuxième victoire de la saison pour Ferrari et Sebastian Vettel, lequel compte désormais 41 succès, autant que le Brésilien Ayrton Senna. La Scuderia roulait même vers son premier doublé depuis le GP d’Allemagne 2010 quand Kimi Räikkönen a été contraint de renoncer, suite à une panne de MGU-K. 

Les RB11 font le show

Deuxième sous le drapeau à damier, Danill Kvyat signe le meilleur résultat de sa carrière. Daniel Ricciardo, qui occupait cette deuxième place à quelques tours de l’arrivée, glisse en troisième position après un contact avec Rosberg. 

Mercedes hors sujet

Fin de série : le constructeur allemand restait sur 29 podiums consécutifs, mais a vécu un dimanche noir à Budapest : Hamilton se contente de la sixième place après une incursion hors piste au départ, un arrêt au stand trop long et une pénalité. Nico Rosberg, prétendant à la deuxième place, a finalement bouclé la course en huitième position après sa touchette avec Daniel Ricciardo. 

Daniil Kvyat (Infiniti Red Bull Racing):

« C’est une saison très difficile, et cette course n’a pas dérogé à la règle, mais je pense que notre équipe mérite ce podium. J’ai cru ma course terminée dès le premier virage car j’avais un énorme plat sur un pneu et j’avais du mal à rester en piste. Mais l’équipe m’a demandé de continuer à pousser et aujourd’hui, j’ai vraiment appris ce que signifiait vraiment le fait de ne rien lâcher, car les évènements peuvent toujours tourner en votre faveur. »

Prochain rendez-vous : GP de Belgique (23 août)

Grand Prix Etats-Unis (Laguna Seca), 18-19 JUILLET 2015

Sykes et Rea assurent le podium

Si Chaz Davies a remporté les deux courses américaines du week-end, Tom Sykes et Jonathan Rea sont montés à deux reprises et de concert sur le podium de Laguna Seca. A noter que cette année encore, seuls les pilotes Superbike ont fait le déplacement en Californie.

Les courses

Seul pilote du plateau Superbike 2015 à s’être déjà imposé à Laguna Seca avant ce week-end, Tom Sykes a réalisé deux très belles courses pour monter à deux reprises sur la deuxième marche du podium. S’il n’a rien pu faire pour aller chercher un Chaz Davies décidément en grande forme sur la piste californienne, le Britannique a réussi à contenir les assaut de son coéquipier jusqu’à la ligne d’arrivée.

« Je suis un peu déçu de ne pas avoir réussi à gagner aujourd’hui, a commenté le champion du monde 2013, mais il me manquait encore un petit quelque chose aujourd’hui. En première manche, je me suis retrouvé en difficulté avec mon pneu arrière dans les derniers tours, et dans la seconde Chaz a été capable de prendre un peu plus de risques quand sont tombées les quelques gouttes de pluie. »

Avec deux troisièmes places, Jonathan Rea signe sa moins bonne performance de la saison. Le leader du championnat enchaîne néanmoins son dix-neuvième podium de rang, ce qui le rapproche encore un peu plus du record que détient Colin Edwards depuis 2002 avec sa succession de vingt-cinq podiums d’affilée.

20150601113148-94406397

Le championnat

Bien que devancé par deux fois par son coéquipier, Jonathan Rea demeure solidement ancré à la première place du classement général. Alors qu’il ne reste plus que quatre épreuves à disputer, le pilote Kawasaki possède en effet 125 points d’avance sur Tom Sykes. Ce dernier voit pour sa part son avance sur Davies passer à 19 points. Du côté des constructeurs, Kawasaki mène la danse avec un avantage de 122 points. Prochain rendez-vous en Malaisie, le 2 août, sur le circuit de Sepang.

L’histoire

La saison 2013 aura marqué comme une passation de pouvoir entre le championnat MotoGP et le championnat Superbike en terre californienne. C’est en effet il y a deux ans que les Grands Prix faisaient pour la dernière fois escale sur le circuit de Laguna Seca qui, la même année, retrouvait le calendrier du WSBK après une longue absence de dix saisons. A la veille des deux manches remportées le 19 juillet 2015 par Chaz Davies, une vingtaine de courses du Mondial Superbike s’étaient déjà déroulées sur la piste californienne située tout près de la ville Monterey. Une première partie entre 1995 et 2005, une seconde entre 2013 et 2015. Avec neuf victoires contre sept pour les Américains, ce sont les pilotes Australiens qui se sont souvent montrés les plus à l’aise sur le tourniquet si singulier de Laguna Seca. Les Britanniques y occupent désormais la troisième marche du podium avec quatre succès.

Rallye du Portugal (Vila Real) 12 juillet 2015

Lopez en leader, Ma en vainqueur 

L’équipe Citroën Total a dominé son sujet au Portugal : victoire du numéro 1 mondial argentin dans la première course, et nouveau succès pour son coéquipier chinois dans la seconde.

AUTO - WTCC

Pechito taille patron

Quatrième pole position de la saison pour le champion du monde en titre. Si Sébastien Loeb s’annonçait menaçant à ses côtés en première ligne, José María López l’a tenu en respect pour signer son sixième succès 2015. Avec la cinquième place sous le drapeau à damier de la course 2, l’Argentin a conforté son leadership. 

Ma passe la deuxième

Ma Qing Hua était entré dans l’histoire l’an dernier en devenant en Russie le premier chinois vainqueur d’une course d’un championnat du monde FIA. Il a signé à Vila Real son deuxième succès en WTCC au terme de la Course 2, devant une autre Citroën C-Elysée WTCC, aux mains du Français Yvan Muller. 

Yves Matton, Directeur de Citroën Racing :

« Nous terminons cette première longue partie de saison avec tous les voyants au vert : quatorze victoires en seize courses, nos quatre pilotes en tête du Championnat du Monde, et une belle avance pour Citroën au classement des constructeurs… Nous sommes tout particulièrement satisfaits de la performance de Ma Qing Hua, qui a concrétisé sa montée en puissance par une seconde victoire en FIA WTCC. Nos quatre pilotes ont donc gagné cette saison, et nous pourrons aborder la tournée asiatique en confiance. » 

Prochain rendez-vous : Japon (Motegi, 11 – 13 septembre).

Grand Prix d’Allemagne (Sachsenring), 12 juillet 2015

Frustration sur le ring

Le Grand Prix d’Allemagne n’a pas réussi aux pilotes du Team Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS. Redding et Rabat sont tombés, et Marquez a terminé hors des points.

SCOTT REDDING GBR

Les courses

Scott Redding imaginait bien s’offrir un top huit pour conclure une première moitié de championnat MotoGP difficile. Malgré sa quatorzième place sur la grille de départ, le Britannique semblait en effet avoir le rythme pour accrocher le bon wagon. Une chute a malheureusement mis fin à ses ambitions avant même la fin du premier tour.

« Dès que j’ai relâché les freins, l’avant s’est allégé et m’a échappé, raconte Redding. J’ai essayé de mon mieux pour récupérer la moto, mais je n’ai rien pu faire. Je suis vraiment déçu car on pouvait espérer faire quelque chose sur ce circuit. »

Rabat était quant à lui en mesure de monter sur le podium Moto2 quand Franco Morbidelli en a décidé autrement. En essayant de doubler Tito au freinage du dernier virage, l’Italien a perdu le contrôle de sa moto. Celle-ci est alors venu harponner la Kalex du pilote du team Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS.

« Il ne m’a laissé aucune chance, raconte Rabat. C’est vraiment rageant car j’avais vraiment souffert avec mon épaule pour assurer ce podium. Heureusement que je vais avoir trois bonnes semaines pour récupérer avant la prochaine course à Indianapolis. »

Victime de deux chutes aux essais, Alex Marquez a pris pour sa part le départ en manque de confiance. Malmené durant les premiers tours, il a tout de même réussi à remonter à la dix-huitième place.

Le championnat

Avec un troisième résultat blanc pour conclure la première moitié du championnat, Scott Redding rétrograde à la quatorzième place du classement général MotoGP. En Moto2, Rabat conserve sa deuxième place, mais ce sont désormais soixante-cinq points qui séparent l’Espagnol du leader, Johann Zarco. Terminant hors des points pour la seconde fois de la saison, Alex Marquez glisse quant à lui à la dix-huitième place du championnat.

L’histoire

Depuis le Grand Prix d’Espagne 2014 à Jerez, Tito Rabat ne s’était plus retrouvé à la sixième place d’une grille de départ. Une contreperformance pour le champion du monde Moto2 en titre ? Certainement pas si l’on considère qu’il ne concédait samedi soir que 0,463 seconde à Johann Zarco, l’auteur de la pole position, et qu’il était passé, une semaine plus tôt, sur une table d’opération pour se faire poser une plaque en titane sur sa clavicule droite. Le 4 juillet dernier, le pilote du Team Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS a en effet été victime d’une lourde chute alors qu’il s’entraînait à Almeria. Un problème technique en rentrant dans le premier virage du circuit espagnol lui a valu de se briser la clavicule en cinq morceaux.

« J’ai eu la chance d’être pris tout de suite en mains, explique-t-il. J’ai rapidement été évacué vers l’hôpital universitaire de Barcelone où le docteur Mir a pu m’opérer dans la soirée. »

Deux jours après, le pilote du team Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS reprenait l’entraînement pour préparer son Grand Prix d’Allemagne. Un courage et une détermination qui seront malheureusement bien mal récompensés…

Rallye de Pologne, 5 juillet 2015

TOP 10 POUR MEEKE ET ØSTBERG

Nouvelle victoire pour Sébastien Ogier. Les DS 3 WRC se placent aux septième et neuvième places.

AUTO - WRC

Les Chevrons tiennent bon

Très mauvaise entame pour Kris Meeke, lequel est violement sorti de la route au cours du shakedown. Une fois que le Citroën Total Abu Dhabi World Rally Team a reconstruit sa DS 3, le Britannique a longtemps évolué dans le Top 5, avant de glisser en septième position. Pour sa part, Mads Østberg a éprouvé des difficultés en termes de rythme. Les points pris ce week-end permettent au team français de conserver la deuxième place du championnat. 

Ogier puissance 5

Qu’importe son ordre de passage sur la route, le n°1 mondial était sans égal en Pologne et conforte son leadership avec cette cinquième victoire sur sept épreuves disputées. 

Tanak fait le show

Ott Tanak a privé Volkswagen d’un triplé au prix d’une performance remarquée qui lui offre son premier podium de la saison. 

Yves Matton (Directeur Citroën Racing) :

« Nous ne pouvons pas être satisfaits du résultat brut au terme de ce Rallye de Pologne. Nous avons peut-être sous-estimé l’impact que pouvait avoir l’absence de tests préliminaires spécifiques pour cette épreuve. Nous allons désormais nous consacrer à la préparation du Rallye de Finlande, une épreuve sur laquelle nos pilotes ont déjà montré leurs capacités à signer de belles performances. Nous irons à Jyvaskyla afin de nous battre pour un bon résultat ! »

 

Prochain rendez-vous : rallye de Finlande (30 juillet – 2 août)

Grand Prix de Grande-Bretagne (Silvertone) , 5 juillet 2015

KVYAT SERRE LE JEU

Infiniti Red Bull Racing se contente de la sixième place de son pilote russe alors que Lewis Hamilton s’est imposé à domicile.

KVYAT daniil (rus) red bull renault rb11 action during the 2015 Formula One World Championship, Grand Prix of England

Pas si loin du podium…

Le nouveau package aérodynamique des Red Bull RB11 s’est montré efficace à Silverstone, avec notamment les deux monoplaces en Q3 lors des qualifications. Sans un tête-à-queue dans son tour de rentrée au stand, lors de l’apparition de la pluie, Daniil Kvyat aurait pu contester la troisième place à Sebastian Vettel. En revanche, Daniel Ricciardo a été contraint à l’abandon. 

Hamilton passe la troisième

Troisième victoire de Lewis Hamilton, depuis la pole position, dans son Grand Prix national, devant Nico Rosberg. Ce nouveau doublé Mercedes n’a pas été simple, avec de fringantes Williams aux avant-postes en début de course, avant de perdre pied sous la pluie. 

Alonso marque enfin

Dixième, Fernando Alonso a inscrit son premier point au championnat 2015 pour le compte de McLaren. Romain Grosjean, pour sa part, a manqué de réussite et enchaîne un deuxième week-end vierge.

 Christian Horner (Infiniti Red Bull Racing – Team Principal):

« pour la première fois depuis Monaco, nous avons eu le sentiment d’être dans le coup. C’est donc un week-end globalement positif avec une voiture qui a visiblement progressé. C’est encourageant. Nous avons semblé plus compétitifs et la Hongrie nous offrira une meilleure opportunité. Ca fait du bien de voir des flashes de potentiel. »

 Prochain rendez-vous : GP de Hongrie (26 juillet)