Race of Qatar

Still in the learning phase

Scott Redding was aiming a place in the top ten for his first Grand Prix with the Honda RC213V. Still not quite at ease with his new factory bike, the British rider had to be content with passing the finish line in thirteenth position.

cr1-motogp-qatar-2015

 

 

 

 

The Races

Of the first test sessions, Redding struggled to find the good feeling he had during the last off-season tests in Qatar. A lack of confidence in the front end of his Honda and a lack of grip on the back of his bike… The Brit and his team improved the situation during the warm up, but not enough to make it to the top ten in the race as he hoped. “I find it hard to turn the bike,” regrets Redding, after finishing thirteenth in the first race of the season. “We need to focus on that because I have to do much better. The positive side of things is that we collected a lot of information during the weekend, and that should allow us to improve our performance in two weeks in Texas.” In Moto2, Tito Rabat didn’t start his season the best way. After qualifying for the front line of the starting grid, the reigning world champion fell early in the race after a clinch with Simone Corsi. Alex Marquez chalked up his first points for his debut in the Grand Prix intermediate class by finishing eleventh.

The Championship

Thirteenth to cross the finish line, Scott Redding left Qatar in thirteenth place in the Moto2 World Championship. Alex Marquez is placed eleventh in the Moto2 standings while Tito Rabat will have to wait for the next Grand Prix of The Americas to score his first points.

The Background

Held in the evening under the spotlights of the Losail circuit planted in the middle of the desert, the Grand Prix of Qatar is like no other event in the MotoGP Championship schedule. And because it is the first event of the season, there is no point in drawing too many lessons from the results of the race. “Here, we work a little differently because of the race times,” says Michael Bartholemy, boss of the Team Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS. “On the other Grand Prix circuits, the riders start racing with soft tires in the morning and switch to harder tires in the afternoon when the track temperature increases. Here it’s the opposite: we go from hot to cold. That means tuning has to be different, especially as we lack experience with our new bike.” And around ten p.m. the humidity rate rises abruptly, creating a higher risk of falls. That’s also why the start of the MotoGP race was moved forward to 9 p.m. this year.

Grand Prix of Malaysia

Kvyat and Ricciardo in the Top 10

At Sepang Sebastian Vettel scored his first victory in the Ferrari colours from Lewis Hamilton, who still leads the championship, and Nico Rosberg. Both Infiniti Red Bull Racing drivers finished in the points.

cr1-F1-Malaisie-2015

 

 

 

 

Red five wins!

Ferrari and Sebastian Vettel’s honeymoon has got off to a great start! Sunday’s race saw the Scuderia clinching its first win since the 2013 Spanish Grand Prix, as the-four-time world champion from Germany scored his last victory the same year in Brazil. The Italian team did a perfect job using a 2-stop strategy compared to three for Mercedes, and they also managed their tyres better. Proof of this was Kimi Raïkkönen’s stunning fight back to fourth place after the Finn suffered a puncture soon after the start.

Force 3

Williams has slotted into the place of the third-best team early on in the season with Valtteri Bottas and Felipe Massa coming home fifth and sixth respectively.

Toro Rosso on a charge

Teenager Max Verstappen sliced past his teammate, Carlos Sainz, in the closing stages of the race to snatch seventh place. Toro Rosso’s encouraging overall result confirms the team’s potential as a regular top 10 contender as already glimpsed in Melbourne.

Daniil & Daniel

Despite a spin caused by being tagged by Nico Hülkenberg Daniil Kvyat saw the flag in ninth place in front of his teammate, Daniel Ricciardo. Infiniti Red Bull Racing was gunning for a better result after starting from the second and third rows, but both drivers had to cope with severe brake problems in the race.

Romain just outside the points

Romain Grosjean looked on course for a points-scoring finish, as he was especially quick in the early stages of the race pulling off some superb overtaking moves. A spin due to contact with Sergio Perez, for which the Mexican was penalised, meant that the Frenchman had to make do with 11th place.

Philippe Girard (Total Group Scientific Delegate): “Daniel’s and Daniil’s fourth and fifth times in qualifying boded well for the race. But they unfortunately had to cope with overheating brakes. Their positions at the flag didn’t reflect the potential of the Infiniti Red Bull Racing package this weekend at Sepang.”

Next race

China 11-12 April

 

 

 

 

 

Race of Thaïland

First Twin-Win for Rea on Kawasaki

Winner of both races in Thailand, Jonathan Rea signed his first twin-win of the season on the brand-new Chang Thai circuit. The new rider for the Kawasaki KRT team has reinforced his position as Superbike championship leader.

cr1-Superbike-Thaïlande-2015

 

 

 

 

The Races

After securing the Superpole position, winning both races and setting the lap record to top it all, Jonathan Rea left only crumbs to his opponents during the second round of the season. Leader of the pack as soon as the lights went out to the chequered flag, the Kawasaki rider outclassed the opposition from beginning to end. Tom Sykes took advantage of the new Thai event to make it to his first podium after the first race. The second was a little more difficult for the former world champion who had to settle for fifth place after being closed in on the first lap. “We’re moving in the right direction,” was Sykes’ analysis. “I’m pretty happy with the podium even if we still have work to do to adapt the new bike to my style of riding. I felt pretty good in the first race, but I had trouble in the second getting the bike to corner.” In the Supersport category Kenan Sofuoglu also won his first podium of the year, finishing second after a good fight with Jacobsen. During the free practice sessions, the Kawasaki rider confirmed his status as favourite for the title by brilliantly taking pole position. His teammate Marco Faccani has crossed the finishing line in seventh position. “I aimed to be in the top ten and finished seventh, so I’m happy,” commented the Italian.

The Championship

With three wins in four races, Rea got his fill of points before the championship returns to Europe. The Kawasaki rider now occupies first place in the overall standings, ten points ahead of Leon Haslam. Tom Sykes is third, thirty points behind the Aprilia rider. In the Supersport class, Sofuoglu’s podium place means he has climbed to second in the standings, six points behind Wilairot. Faccani is eleventh with thirteen points.

The Background

“A twin-win doesn’t happen often, especially that clear after securing the Superpole position. I’m going to take my time and enjoy this one.” On the evening after the second event of the Superbike season, Jonathan Rea was understandably delighted. Solid leader in the overall classification, the British rider seems at his best behind the handlebars of the Kawasaki Ninja ZX-10R. “From the first practice session on the new Chang Thai circuit, everything worked perfectly,” says Rea. Even if a bike can always be improved, we started the weekend on a really healthy basis. I was immediately riding at a good pace without having to change much in the settings. And everything else fell perfectly into place.” Before his triumph in Thailand, Jonathan Rea only had two twin-wins since his debut in Superbike, the first in the Netherlands in 2010, the second last season in Italy. Given the supremacy he’s displayed since the start of this season, the Kawasaki rider could notch up a few more by the end of the year.

Grand Prix of Australia

Ricciardo in the points…

The 2015 F1 World Championship got off to a difficult start in Australia for both Infiniti Red Bull Racing and Romain Grosjean.

cr1-F1-Australie-2015

 

 

 

 

Hat trick

Lewis Hamilton scored a hat trick with pole position, victory and the fastest lap in the race getting his title defence off to a flying start in Melbourne. The Mercedes team is still the benchmark by which the rest of the field is judged as it clinched a double with the help of Nico Rosberg who never posed a threat to the world no. 1.

Podium

Sebastian Vettel made his debut in Ferrari red with a convincing third place. In the last eight grand prix of the 2014 season the Scuderia failed to score a top-3 finish.

Daniel

On home turf Daniel Ricciardo would have liked to have given his Australian fans something to cheer about, but his RB11 proved inconsistent and difficult to drive and he had to make do with sixth place. Russian Daniil Kvyat in the second Red Bull was let down by his gearbox on his way to the grid.

Romain

Romain Grosjean was unable to display his skills on the Albert Park circuit. On the formation lap his car suffered a sudden loss of power and he was unable to complete the first lap of the race.

Rookies

Rookies Felipe Nasr (Sauber) and Carlos Sainz (Toro Rosso) finished in fifth and ninth places respectively scoring points in their first grand prix.

Guillaume Biondi (Total F1 technical coordinator): “Our start to the championship wasn’t what we were hoping for with our partners Infiniti Red Bull Racing and Renault Sport F1. Only one solution: continue to work!”

Next race

Grand Prix of Malaysia: March 28-29

Race of Argentina

Citroën Total’s clean sweep in the opening round

The Citroën C-Elysées dominated the first two races in the 2015 world championship.

cr1-WTCC-Argentine-2015

 

 

 

 

1+1=2

José Maria Lopez, the reigning world champion, won race 1 while Sébastien Loeb clinched victory in race 2 – a clean sweep for Citroën Total!

A triple and a double

Lopez-Muller-Loeb gave their team an all-Citroën podium in the first race followed by a Loeb-Lopez double in the second. It’s a similar result to the first meeting in Marrakech in 2014 and bodes well for the future.

Pechito 1st

The Argentinean, the reigning world champion, got his 2015 campaign off to a perfect start on home turf as he leaves the Termas de Rio Hondo Autodromo leading the world championship.

Loeb season 2

The nine-time world rally champion boosted by what he learned in his first year is tackling 2015 with raised ambitions: “It’s great to start the season like this”, exclaimed a delighted Frenchman at the end on the second race.

Philippe Girard (Total Group scientific delegate): “It’s a fantastic result for the Citroën Total team. In suffocating heat that’s always very hard on the mechanical components, it’s worth underlining the excellent performance/reliability ratio of the C-Elysée WTCCs. It’s a great reward for our work on the lubricants in partnership with Citroën Racing.”

Next round

Marrakech (19th April)

Rally of Mexico

First 2015 podium!

The Citroën Total team puts the Ostberg-Andersson DS3 WRC on the second place.

cr1-WRC-Mexique-2015

 

 

 

 

Zero

On the initiative of the FIA the crews raced in the final stage of the rally, the daunting 55.82-km Guanajuatito special that really sorts the men from the boys, without receiving any split times from their teams.

One

First top-3 finish of the season for the Citroën Total team.

Two

There was an all-Norwegian duel between Mads Ostberg and Andreas Mikkelsen. The Citroën driver fought off his fellow-countryman and clinched a superb second place, which has got his season off to a flying start. Kris Meeke came home in 16th spot at the wheel of the second DS3 WRC after an off on Friday forced him to restart in Rally 2.

Three

Hats off to Sébastien Ogier victorious in Léon. The double world champion has won the first three rallies of the 2015 season.

Four

The Citroën Total team set four fastest times in the 21 stages in Rally Mexico.

Marek Nawarecki (Deputy Team Principal Citroën Racing):“The rally ends on a very positive note. The car has proven once again that it is competitive and Mads has shown consistency in managing to keep out of trouble on this tricky Mexican course. We are a bit disappointed with Kris, because he made a mistake at the start of the rally. Overall, the performances were good, although we would have liked to score more points. It nevertheless augurs well for the rest of the season!”

Next round

Rally Argentina (23-26 April)

Course du Qatar

Encore en phase d’apprentissage

Scott Redding visait une place dans le top dix pour son premier Grand Prix avec la Honda RC213V. Pas encore tout à fait à l’aise avec sa nouvelle moto d’usine, le pilote britannique a dû se contenter de passer sur la ligne d’arrivée en treizième position.

cr1-motogp-qatar-2015

 

 

 

 

Les courses

Des les premiers essais, Redding a eu du mal à retrouver le bon feeling qu’il avait eu lors des derniers tests de l’intersaison au Qatar. Manque de confiance en l’avant de sa Honda, manque de grip à l’arrière de sa moto… Le Britannique et son équipe ont amélioré la situation durant le warm up, mais pas suffisant pour rentrer dans le top dix en course, comme il l’espérait. « J’ai du mal à faire tourner la moto, regrette Redding, treizième à l’arrivée de la première course de la saison. Il faut que l’on se concentre là dessus car je dois faire beaucoup mieux que ça. L’aspect positif, c’est que nous avons emmagasiné beaucoup d’informations durant ce week-end, et cela va nous permettre de faire mieux dans deux semaines au Texas. » En Moto2, Tito Rabat n’a pas lancé sa saison de la dernière des façons. Alors qu’il s’était qualifié en première ligne, le champion du monde en titre est tombé en début de course en s’accrochant avec Simone Corsi. Alex Marquez a lui inscrit ses premiers points pour ses débuts dans la classe intermédiaire des Grands Prix en se classant onzième.

Le championnat

Treizième à l’arrivée, Scott Redding repart du Qatar à la treizième place du championnat du monde Moto2. Alex Marquez pointe à la onzième place du classement Moto2 alors que Tito Rabat devra attendre le prochain Grand Prix des Amériques pour inscrire ses premiers points.

L’histoire

Organisé en soirée, sous les projecteurs du circuit de Losail planté en plein désert, le Grand Prix du Qatar ne ressemble à aucune autre manche du championnat MotoGP. Et c’est aussi parce c’est que la première épreuve de la saison qu’il ne faut pas trop tirer de leçons des résultats de cette course. « Ici, on travaille un peu différemment à cause des horaires, explique Michael Bartholemy, le patron de l’équipe Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS. Sur les autres Grands Prix, les pilotes commencent à rouler avec les pneus tendres le matin puis ils passent les durs l’après-midi quand la température de la piste augmente. Ici c’est le contraire, on va du chaud au froid. La mise au point s’aborde autrement, surtout quand comme nous on manque d’expérience avec notre nouvelle moto. » Sur le coup des 22h00, on a aussi un taux d’humidité qui grimpe brutalement avec un risque de chutes important. C’est d’ailleurs pour cela que cette année le départ de la course MotoGP a été avancé à 21h00.

Grand Prix de Malaisie

Top 10 pour Kvyat et Ricciardo

Sebastian Vettel signe à Sepang sa première victoire aux couleurs Ferrari devant Hamilton, toujours leader au classement, et Rosberg. Les deux Infiniti Red Bull Racing dans les points.

cr1-F1-Malaisie-2015

 

 

 

 

5 rouge impair et gagne !

Lune de miel prometteuse pour Ferrari et Sebastian Vettel. Ferrari ne s’était plus imposée depuis le GP d’Espagne 2013, saison dont le GP du Brésil marquait la dernière victoire du quadruple champion allemand. Deux arrêts contre trois aux Mercedes, une meilleure tenue des gommes, une stratégique maîtrisée : la Scuderia a rendue une copie parfaite, d’autant que Kimi Räikkönen a mené une superbe charge pour finir quatrième après une crevaison.

Force 3

Williams se positionne comme la troisième force de ce début de saison, avec les cinquième et sixièmes places de Valtteri Bottas et Felipe Massa.

Le taureau voit rouge

Le très jeune Max Verstappen a croqué en fin de course son coéquipier, Carlos Sainz, pour lui ravir la septième place. Ce tir groupé de Toro Rosso confirme le « potentiel top 10 » entrevu à Melbourne.

Daniil & Daniel

Malgré un tête à queue consécutif à un contact avec Nico Hülkenberg, Daniil Kvyat se classe neuvième, devant la seconde Red Bull aux mains de Daniel Ricciardo. Infiniti Red Bull Racing visait un meilleur résultat depuis les deuxième et troisième lignes, mais les deux pilotes ont du composer avec de gros problèmes de freins.

Romain n’est pas loin

Les points étaient largement à la portée de Romain Grosjean, particulièrement performant en début de course et crédité de quelques beaux dépassements. Un tête à queue, suite à un contact avec Sergio Pérez pour lequel le mexicain a été sanctionné, a forcé le Français à se contenter de la Onzième place.

Philippe Girard (Délégué Scientifique Groupe Total) : « Les quatrième et cinquième temps de Daniel et Daniil en qualifications étaient plutôt prometteurs en vue de la course. Mais ils ont malheureusement dû composer avec un problème de surchauffe de leurs freins. A l’arrivée, le résultat ne reflète pas le potentiel du package technique Infiniti Red Bull Racing ce week-end à Sepang. »

Prochaine course

Chine les 11-12 avril

Course de Thaïlande

Premier doublé en vert pour Rea

Vainqueur des deux courses thaïlandaises, Jonathan Rea signe son premier doublé de la saison sur le nouveau circuit de Chang Thai. Le nouveau pilote de l’équipe Kawasaki KRT conforte ainsi sa place de leader du championnat Superbike.

cr1-Superbike-Thaïlande-2015

 

 

 

 

Les courses

Superpole, victoire dans les deux courses, et record du tour pour couronner le tout, Jonathan Rea n’a laissé que des miettes à ses adversaires à l’occasion de la deuxième épreuve de la saison. En tête de l’extinction des feux au passage du drapeau à damiers, le pilote Kawasaki a survolé les débats. De son côté, Tom Sykes a profité de la nouvelle épreuve thaïlandaise pour monter sur son premier podium à l’issue de la première course. La seconde a été un peu plus difficile pour l’ex-champion du monde qui a dû se contenter de la cinquième place après s’être fait enfermer dans le premier tour. « Nous sommes dans la bonne direction, analyse Sykes. Je suis assez content de ce podium même s’il nous reste encore du travail pour adapter la nouvelle moto à mon pilotage. J’étais pas mal dans la première course, mais j’ai eu du mal dans la seconde pour faire rentrer la moto dans les virages. » En Supersport, Kenan Sofuoglu s’est lui aussi offert son premier podium de l’année en terminant deuxième après une belle bagarre avec Jacobsen. Aux essais, le pilote Kawasaki avait confirmé son statut de favori pour le titre en signant brillamment la pole position. Son coéquipier Marco Faccani a lui passé la ligne d’arrivée en septième position. « Je visais un top dix, je finis septième, je suis donc comblé », commente l’Italien.

Le championnat

Avec trois victoires en quatre courses, Rea a fait le plein de points avant le retour du championnat en Europe. Le pilote Kawasaki occupe désormais la première place du classement général avec dix points d’avance sur Leon Haslam. Tom Sykes pointe en troisième position avec trente longueurs de retard sur le pilote Aprilia. En Supersport, Sofuoglu profite de son podium pour se hisser à la deuxième place du classement général avec six points de retard sur Wilairot. Faccani est lui onzième avec treize points inscrits.

L’histoire

« Un doublé, cela n’arrive pas souvent, surtout de façon aussi limpide après avoir décroché la Superpole. Alors celui-ci, je vais prendre le temps de le savourer. » Au soir de la deuxième épreuve de la saison de Superbike, Jonathan Rea est aux anges. Solide leader du classement général, le pilote britannique semble revivre au guidon de la Kawasaki ZX-10R. « Dès la première séance d’essais sur ce nouveau circuit de Chang Thai, tout fonctionnait parfaitement, raconte Rea. Même si une moto peut toujours être améliorée, on a attaqué le week-end avec une base hyper saine. J’ai tout de suite roulé dans un très bon rythme sans que l’on ait à changer grand-chose au niveau des réglages. Et tout s’est par la suite parfaitement enchaîné. » Avant ce triomphe thaïlandais, Jonathan Rea n’avait réalisé que deux doublés depuis ses débuts en Superbike. Le premier en 2010 aux Pays-Bas, le deuxième la saison dernière en Italie. Au vu de la suprématie qu’il affiche en ce début de saison, le pilote Kawasaki pourrait en accrocher encore quelques uns d’ici la fin de l’année.

Grand Prix d’Australie

Ricciardo dans les points…

L’ouverture australe du championnat s’est avérée compliquée pour Infiniti Red Bull Racing comme pour Romain Grosjean.

cr1-F1-Australie-2015

 

 

 

 

Grand Chelem

La pole position, le meilleur tour en course, la victoire : Lewis Hamilton débute la défense de son titre mondial par un carton plein à Melbourne. L’écurie Mercedes reste la référence du plateau avec un doublé assuré par Nico Rosberg, lequel n’a jamais été en mesure d’inquiéter le n°1 mondial.

Podium

Sebastian Vettel débute en rouge Ferrari avec une troisième place probante à l’arrivée. Le podium s’était en effet refusé à la Scuderia sur les huit derniers Grands Prix 2014.

Daniel

A domicile, l’Australien Daniel Ricciardo aurait aimé régaler son public. Reste que sa RB11 s’est montrée rétive et inconstante, si bien qu’il se contente de la sixième place. Le russe Daniil Kvyat, au volant de la seconde Red Bull, a été lâché par sa boîte de vitesses lorsqu’il rejoignait la grille.

Romain

Romain Grosjean n’a pas pu s’exprimer sur le circuit de l’Albert Park. Après un problème de perte de puissance lors du tour de formation, il n’a pas été en mesure de boucler le premier tour de course.

Rookies

Classés respectivement aux cinquième et neuvième places, les débutants Felipe Nasr (Sauber) et Carlos Sainz (Toro Rosso) sont dans les points dès leur premier GP.

Guillaume Biondi (Coordinateur Technique F1 Total) : « Ce n’est pas le début de championnat que nous espérions avec nos partenaires Infiniti Red Bull Racing et Renault Sport F1. Une seule solution : continuer à travailler. »

Prochaine course

Grand Prix de Malaisie (28-29 mars)

Course d’Argentine

Carton plein pour Citroën Total en ouverture

Les Citroën C-Elysée WTCC ont dominé les deux premières courses du Championnat du Monde 2015.

cr1-WTCC-Argentine-2015

 

 

 

 

1 + 1 = 2

José María López, le tenant du titre, s’est imposé dans la course 1, cependant que Sébastien Loeb a remporté la course 2. Un carton plein pour Citroën Total.

Un triplé et un doublé

López-Muller-Loeb, voilà pour le podium 100% Citroën Total de la première course, avant un doublé Loeb-López dans la seconde. Un résultat similaire à celui du premier meeting 2014 à Marrakech. De bon augure…

Pechito 1er

Le championnat du monde en titre argentin a parfaitement lancé sa campagne 2015 à domicile puisqu’il quitte l’Autódromo Termas de Río Hondo en tête du championnat.

Loeb, saison 2

Fort d’une première saison d’apprentissage convaincante, le nonuple champion du monde WRC attaque 2015 avec des ambitions à la hausse. « C’est top de commencer la saison de cette manière », s’est-il exclamé, fou de joie à l’arrivée de la deuxième course.

Philippe Girard (Délégué Scientifique du Groupe Total) : « Un superbe résultat pour le team Citroën Total. Dans une chaleur suffocante, toujours critique pour la mécanique, il faut souligner l’excellent ratio performance-fiabilité des Citroën C-Elysée WTCC. La récompense de notre travail sur les lubrifiants en partenariat avec Citroën Racing. »

Prochain rendez-vous

Marrakech (19 avril)

Rallye du Mexique

Premier podium 2015 !

Le team Citroën Total place la DS3 WRC de l’équipage Østberg-Andersson à la deuxième place.

cr1-WRC-Mexique-2015

 

 

 

 

Zéro

A l’initiative de la FIA, les équipages ont disputé la dernière épreuve spéciale du rallye, Guanajuatito, un morceau de bravoure de 55,82 km, sans que leurs écuries leur communiquent de temps intermédiaires.

Un

Premier podium de la saison pour l’équipe Citroën Total.

Deux

Duel norvégien entre Mads Østberg et Andreas Mikkelsen. Le pilote Citroën a résisté à son compatriote pour signer une superbe deuxième place qui lance sa saison. Kris Meeke s’est classé 16e au volant de la seconde DS3, après une sortie de route vendredi qui l’a contraint à repartir en Rallye 2.

Trois

Coup du chapeau pour Sébastien Ogier : victorieux à Leon, le double champion du monde en titre a ainsi remporté les trois premiers rallyes de la saison.

Quatre

L’équipe Citroën Total a signé 4 temps scratches sur les 21 épreuves spéciales disputées au Mexique.

Marek Nawarecki (Deputy Team Principal de Citroën Racing): « Notre auto a prouvé une fois de plus sa compétitivité et Mads s’est montré consistant en évitant les pièges de ce rallye mexicain compliqué. Nous sommes un peu déçus pour Kris, parti à la faute d’entrée. Au final une bonne performance même si nous aurions aimé marquer plus de points. Néanmoins, notre niveau de performance est de bon augure pour le reste de la saison. »

Prochain rendez-vous 

Rallye d’Argentine (23 – 26 avril)