Race of Australia

Rea Rides On

For his debut with the Kawasaki team, Jonathan Rea has not done things by half. Winner of the first race of the season and second in the second, the Brit finished the opening of the championship as co-leader in the overall standings.

-cr1-Sykes-Phillip-Island-Race-01

 

 

 

 

The Races

With a win and a second place, Jonathan Rea got his 2015 season off to a flying start. As usual, Tom Sykes was a little less brilliant than usual on a circuit he has never really liked. After being roughly overtaken by VD Mark and leaving the track in the first round, Sykes made it to an honest sixth place before finishing at the foot of the podium in the second race. “It’s not too bad a start to the year,” summarized the 2013 World Champion. “We all know the first test does not really reflect what the rest of the championship will be like. For me, the real fun will begin in Europe.” In Supersport, Kenan Sofuoglu was fighting for a place on the podium when he left the track at the start of the sixth lap and torpedoed his hopes of victory. The triple world champion nevertheless got back into the race at the back of the pack to finish in sixth place.

The Championship

On a circuit that has never been a favorite for Kawasaki, Jonathan Rea and Tom Sykes collected a fine crop of points, allowing them to leave Australia in second and fourth place overall. Sofuoglu began his season in sixth place in the Supersport championship.

The Background

After fifteen years of competing with Honda, Jonathan Rea did not expect to adapt so quickly to the Kawasaki ZX 10R. After winning the practice test sessions in the Superpole, the Brit brilliantly rode to the victory in the first race of the season. “I never imagined that the Kawasaki would be as good on the Phillip Island circuit,” said Rea. “Until now, the track was not the most favorable for the ZX 10R. Things have obviously changed, perhaps due to the new technical regulations… Anyway I managed to start in the lead and then control the race. Nobody seemed to want to take over my first place, and I didn’t know how fast I should ride to save the tires. In the end I managed to stay ahead until the finish.” The result of the second round might have been the same if Haslam hadn’t managed to snatch victory from Rea on the finish line. “I lost for a hundredth of a second,” regretted the Kawasaki rider. “That makes me a little mad, but the important thing is that I’ve realized that this year I’m going to be a serious contender for the title.”

Rally of Sweden

The Citroën DS3 WRCs in the points

Kris Meeke and Mads Østberg both finished in the top 10 scoring precious early-season points.

Hats off to the winner! The French world no. 1, Sébastien Ogier (Volkswagen), emerged victorious in the second round of the 2015 World rally championship in the final Power Stage.

Kris Meeke got caught out in SS7 on Friday when he was running in the top 5. Nonetheless, he fought his way back up through the field and saw the flag in seventh place overall. The Northern Irishman and his co-driver, Paul Nagle, set their first fastest time in Sweden (SS16) during their comeback.

Mads Østberg and Jonas Andersson were in the running for a top-3 finish for a long time until they fell back after a puncture followed by hand brake problems. Thanks to their fighting spirit the Scandinavians never gave up and scored a bonus point in the Power Stage.

Yves Matton (Citroën Racing Team Principal): “The racing incidents, the handful of technical problems we had and the mistakes made by our drivers mean that the result is a long way off the targets set by the team at the start. Everyone is still very motivated. And it’s just the start of the season!”

Next Round : Rally Mexico (6-8 March)

Course d’Australie

Rea frappe d’entrée

Pour ses débuts avec l’équipe Kawasaki, Jonathan Rea n’a pas fait les choses à moitié. Vainqueur de la première course de la saison et deuxième de la seconde, le Britannique a bouclé l’ouverture du championnat en tant que co-leader du classement général.

-cr1-Sykes-Phillip-Island-Race-01

 

 

 

 

Les courses

Avec une victoire et une deuxième place, Jonathan Rea a parfaitement lancé sa saison 2015. Comme à son habitude, Tom Sykes a été un peu moins brillant sur un circuit qu’il n’a jamais vraiment apprécié. Victime d’une sortie de piste en première manche à la suite d’un dépassement un peu musclé de VD Mark, Sykes a sauvé une honnête sixième place avant de terminer au pied du podium de la seconde course. « C’est pas trop mal pour entamer l’année, résume le champion du monde 2013. On sait très bien que cette première épreuve ne reflète pas vraiment ce que sera la suite du championnat. Pour moi, les choses sérieuses commenceront en Europe. » En Supersport, Kenan Sofuoglu était à la lutte pour le podium quand une sortie de piste à l’entrée du sixième tour a torpillé ses espoirs de victoire. Le triple champion du monde a tout de même repris les débats dans le fond du peloton avant de remonter jusqu’à la sixième place.

Le championnat

Sur un circuit qui n’a jamais été le plus favorable aux Kawasaki, Jonathan Rea et Tom Sykes ont réalisé une belle moisson de points qui leur permet de repartir d’Australie en deuxième et quatrième positions du classement général. Sofuoglu entame lui la saison de Supersport à la sixième place du championnat.

L’histoire

Après quinze ans de compétition disputés avec des Honda, Jonathan Rea ne s’attendait pas à s’adapter aussi vite à la Kawasaki ZX 10R. Déjà vainqueur aux essais de la Superpole, le Britannique a brillamment décroché la victoire de la première course de la saison. « Je n’imaginais surtout pas que la Kawasaki serait aussi performante sur le circuit de Phillip Island, raconte Rea. Jusqu’à présent, cette piste n’était pas la plus favorable à la ZX 10R. Les choses ont visiblement changé, peut-être du fait du nouveau règlement technique… Quoi qu’il en soit j’ai pu partir en tête et contrôler ensuite la course. Personne ne semblait vouloir me relayer à la première place, et je ne savais pas trop quel rythme imprimer pour économiser les pneus. Au final j’ai réussi à garder l’avantage jusqu’à l’arrivée. » Le résultat de la deuxième manche aurait pu être le même si Haslam n’avait pas réussi à souffler la victoire à Rea sur la ligne d’arrivée. « Je m’incline pour un centième de seconde, détaille le pilote Kawasaki. Ça me fait un peu râler, mais l’important c’est de m’être rendu compte que je serai cette année un candidat sérieux pour le titre. »

Rallye de Suède

Les Citroën DS3 WRC dans les points

Kris Meeke et Mads Østberg ont respectivement rallié dans le Top 10, marquant de précieux points en ce début de saison.

Honneur au vainqueur : le numéro 1 mondial français, Sébastien Ogier (Volkswagen), s’est imposé lors de l’ultime Power Stage de la deuxième manche du Championnat du monde des rallyes 2015.

Kris Meeke s’est fait piégé vendredi dans l’ES 7 alors qu’il évoluait dans le Top 5. Il est néanmoins remonté dans la hiérarchie pour prendre la septième place au classement final. Le Britannique et son copilote Paul Nagle en ont profité pour signer leur tout premier meilleur temps en Suède (ES16).

Mads Østberg et Jonas Andersson ont longtemps figurés sur le podium virtuel, avant de devoir lâcher prise suite à une crevaison, puis des problèmes de frein à main. Pugnaces, les scandinaves sont allés chercher un point de bonus dans la Power Stage.

Yves Matton (Directeur de Citroën Racing) : « Les faits de course, nos quelques soucis techniques et les erreurs commises par nos pilotes font que le résultat est loin des ambitions que notre équipe présentait au départ. Tout le monde reste très motivé. Nous ne sommes qu’au début de la saison ! »

Prochain rendez-vous : Rallye du Mexique (6 – 8 mars).