GP of Hungary

Ricciardo emerges from chaos

Daniel Ricciardo won his second victory in Formula 1, the second in this 2014 season for the Red Bull driver who, after Canada, emerged from the tangle in Hungary to take the chequered flag, following a three-way battle, ahead of Fernando Alonso and Lewis Hamilton.

cr1-F1-Hongrie-2014

 

 

 

 

The facts

The start was on wet track and the race really took off very quickly with Nico Rosberg (Mercedes), who started on pole, holding on to his advantage until the first appearance of the Safety Car, on the seventh lap, at a moment when the German wasn’t in a position to dive into the stands, and lost the race lead a few seconds later.

Meanwhile, his team mate, Lewis Hamilton, was embarked upon an unbelievable comeback through the traffic – a feat that has become something of a habit for the British driver over the last few races. At the end of the day, The Englishman finished third, and profited from that to pocket three little points on his main rival in the Drivers’ Championship.

Fernando Alonso, on an offbeat strategy, wasn’t far from victory, but could do nothing when, three laps from the flag, the Australian from RBR caught up and overtook him to secure his second victory this season. A few instants earlier, Ricciardo had zipped past Hamilton to enthusiastic applause from the Red Bull garage.

The figure

9 – Nine. Like the number of races without scoring a single point in 2014 for Romain Grosjean. The Lotus driver was once again forced to withdraw this Sunday afternoon in Hungary. The Frenchman has not finished in the top ten since Monaco.

The quote

“He who risks nothing, gains nothing, but having to retire from behind the Safety Car, that hurts…” Romain Grosjean, who skidded off while trying to heat up his tyres behind the Safety Car.

The anecdote

Sebastian Vettel (7th), who went into a spin when he skidded on the verge in the main straight, had an acrobatic escape, the right flank of his RB10 scraping the wall for a few centimetres.

Next up

Belgium (22-24 August)

GP of Germany

Rosberg, King of Germany

Nico Rosberg won his national Grand Prix, in Germany, having started from pole position. The recently married leader of the Drivers’ Championship finished ahead of Valteri Bottas and of his team mate Lewis Hamilton, who achieved a remarkable comeback. For Red Bull and Lotus, the mid-season waypoint was rounded somewhat discreetly.

cr1-F1-Allemagne-2014

 

 

 

 

The facts

The tone of the race was set right from the first turn when Williams driver Felipe Massa suffered a rolling crash upon being harpooned by Kevin Magnusson (McLaren). The Brazilian was more shaken than injured, but continues to be dogged by misfortune in this 2014 season.

Hamilton, who started twentieth following an accident during qualification on Saturday and a gearbox change during the night, wowed spectators with overtaking manoeuvres that were as magnificent as they were daring. The British driver “salvaged the situation” at the finish, but ceded ten points to his main rival.

The fight for the runners-up positions was hard fought. Sebastian Vettel, at the wheel of the Red Bull, took both Ferraris at one swipe in the hairpin, to finish fourth ahead of Fernando Alonso. Daniel Ricciardo, his team mate, crossed the line in sixth position, after a fine tussle with the Spaniard’s F14 T.

The figure

10 – Ten. Like the number of races without scoring a single point in 2014 for Pastor Maldonado. The Lotus driver ended up stranded in twelfth position this Sunday afternoon in Germany. Nevertheless, his contract was extended into 2015 this weekend.

The quote

“We have taken steps to ensure the lessons of 2014 are well learnt, and to allow us to return to the desired level in 2015, i.e. fighting for podium places. Watch out for us in 2015 and beyond!” declared Gérard Lopez, boss and co-owner of Lotus, who believes the team will return to the front rank next season.

The anecdote

Vettel, who was on the top step of the podium last year in Germany, has yet to win a race in 2014. The quadruple World Champion, who has triumphed in 38 races in 5 seasons with Red Bull, is having to learn patience.

Next up

Hungary (25th-27th July)

Results Superbike Laguna Seca

Sykes Sprints to Success

Third in the first American race, in the second Tom Sykes scored his eighth win of the season after a seven-lap sprint that will leave its mark in many a memory.

cr1-Superbike-Laguna-Seca-2014

 

 

 

 

The Races

Starting in the lead of the first race, Tom Sykes unfortunately made a small mistake at the entry to the Corkscrew, an error immediately used to their advantage by Melandri and Guintoli who slipped past him. By the time he regained his senses and caught up with the two Aprilia riders again, he was still six seconds behind them, and the championship leader could only make sure he made it to the third step of the podium. The second race, run on only seven laps, allowed the Kawasaki rider to show the full range of his skills once again. Melandri having abandoned, Sykes quickly took the lead to clinch his eighth win of the season. “It was a very good result because we had a lot of problems on this circuit last season,” said the Brit. “It was important for me to take two podiums before the summer break.” Loris Baz had a harder time on the track at Laguna Seca. Ninth in the first race, he did a little better in the second, finishing sixth. “I can’t be satisfied with these results,” explained the French rider in the evening after the Californian event. “We had settings problems all weekend that we never managed to solve. I had trouble getting the bike to turn, and on this kind of technical track with lots of changes in terrain, you can’t get away with it. I’m really disappointed with my weekend.” In the Evo category, David Salom won twice. Finishing in tenth place three seconds behind Baz in the first round, the Spaniard finished eighth in the second race ahead of Andreozzi and Camier. As every year, no event in the Supersport World Championship was held in California. Kenan Sofuoglu will be back in the competition in early September in Jerez.

The Championship

With his two podiums in America, Tom Sykes has slightly increased his lead again in the overall standings. The Kawasaki rider now leads the overall standings with a forty-four point lead over Sylvain Guintoli. Loris Baz, on the other hand, has slipped back to fourth place. The French rider is still only four small points behind Jonathan Rea. Twelfth with eighty-eight points on his counter, Salom has consolidated his position as the leading Evo rider.

The Background

The tribute is that of Sylvain Guintoli, second in the Superbike World Championship and Tom Sykes’ main rival in the title race: “Nobody can beat Tom on this kind of seven-lap sprint. It’s really great the way he’s in action right from the first bend. Unlike most of his opponents, he can be one hundred percent right from the start. And once he’s off, it’s hard to catch up with him.” The words are those of the Kawasaki rider’s heir on the evening of the race at Laguna Seca after Sykes had won a second round reduced to seven laps. A sprint due to two red-flag interruptions to the race, the first caused by the fall of Alex Lowes, the second by that of Sylvain Barrier. “Maybe that’s also why I’m so good in Superpole sessions,” suggested the world champion title holder and championship leader. “I manage to get into action very quickly. And on this kind of highly technical track, making the difference right from the start is a huge advantage.” A quality that the English rider also owes in part to his experience in BSB, the British Superbike Championship, in which the majority of the events are held on small circuits that most of all require explosiveness.

Results MotoGP Germany

Marc VDS Team on track for title

By finishing second and fourth in the Moto2 German Grand Prix, Kallio and Rabat have consolidated their positions in the overall standings. Now separated by only nineteen points the two riders of the Marc VDS team are on track to the world title.

cr1-MotoGP-Allemagne-2014

 

 

 

 

The Races

Leader for twenty-six of the twenty-nine laps of the German Grand Prix, Mika Kallio should have scored his third win of the season at Sachsenring – but Dominique Aegerter of Switzerland stopped that by overtaking him in the penultimate bend. “He came out of bend 11 really well and there was nothing I could do to prevent him from overtaking me at the bottom,” said Kallio. “I tried my luck in the last bend, but there was nothing I could do.” In a fight to the finish with Simone Corsi, Tito Rabat lost the podium in the last lap. “I thought I could overtake him again in the last bend, but I made a mistake in entering it too fast and leaving it too wide,” regretted the Spaniard. In the MotoGP category, Stefan Bradl finished without scoring any points after starting with the wrong settings. Finally in Moto3, Miguel Oliveira crashed while Arthur Sissis managed to cross the finish line in thirteenth position. Livio Loi withdrew because of a mechanical problem after leaving the track early in the race to avoid a competitor who had fallen in front of him.

The Championship

Now separated by only nineteen points, Tito Rabat and Mika Kallio are approaching the summer break in the first two places of the Moto2 championship with a comfortable lead over their opponents. Third overall, Viñales is fifty points behind the Spanish leader. In the MotoGP category, Stefan Bradl has lost one place and slid back to ninth position at mid-season. There’s no change in the Moto3 category, since Miguel Oliveira has kept his eighth place. Livo Loi is now in eighteenth position.

The Background

You win some, you lose some. But not much. When the MotoGP riders lined up on the starting grid of the German Grand Prix, a shower had just soaked the Sachsenring circuit. Everyone had rain tires. But the German track dries quickly. Stefan Bradl and his team decided to change the wheels to start on slicks. But they also needed to change the suspension settings. And that’s where things got complicated. “We had a small problem with the rear shock absorber,” said Christophe Bourguignon, technical director of the LCR team. “The mechanic who was working on the fork had to lend a hand to the one who was working on the rear wheel, and we didn’t have time to change the fork springs. So Stefan had to start with settings that were unsuitable for the situation.” But Lucio Cecchinello’s team had made the right choice, since after the warm-up lap all the riders who had rain tires went into the pits to change bikes. Setting off with a head lead, Bradl was unable to reap the benefits of his intuition. After leading for five laps in front of his public, the German rider had to satisfy himself by crossing the finish line in sixth position.

Results Superbike Portugal

Brains beat brawn

Although rain decided to disrupt the eighth round of the World Superbike Championship, Tom Sykes showed brains as well as brawn on the Portimao circuit. Thanks to a win and an eighth place, the titleholder has strengthened his lead in the overall standings.

cr1 Superbike Portugal 2014

 

 

 

 

The Races

Having winning his twenty-second Superpole on Saturday afternoon, Tom Sykes was merciless in the first race of the Portuguese weekend. Quickly taking the lead, he rode through the brief shower which played with the nerves of the other riders to score his seventh win of the season, the twenty-first of his career in Superbike. In so doing, the Kawasaki rider has joined Max Biaggi in the list of record-holders for the discipline. Held on a wet track, race two was more difficult for the world championship title-holder. Lacking grip, he satisfied himself with an eighth place, after avoiding the pitfalls into which many of his opponents unfortunately fell. Third in race one three seconds behind his teammate, Loris Baz finished ahead of him in the second round by crossing the finish line in sixth position. In the Supersport category, after the race was shortened by six laps because of the rain, Kenan Sofuoglu made it to his third podium of the season by finishing behind Michael van der Mark and Jack Kennedy.

The Championship

In perfect control despite extremely tricky conditions, Tom Sykes strengthened his leading position in Portimao. As the championship moves into the second half of the season, the title-holder now has a forty-three point lead over Sylvain Guintoli. Loris Baz, third overall, is now only five points behind his competitor compatriot. In the Supersport category, Kenan Sofuoglu used the sixteen points scored in Portimao to move back to fourth place in the championship.

The Background

To win a world championship title, sometimes it’s best to play it safe and score the points that will count at the end of the season. Tom Sykes confirmed in Portugal that he’s the fastest rider on the track, but he also showed he can handle things when the situation requires. An easy winner in race one, the Kawasaki rider didn’t take any risks during the second, disrupted by rain. Letting his direct rivals make the mistakes, he intelligently set his sights on scoring the eight precious points he needed and avoided doing much more. “The weather had decided to play with our nerves,” said the Brit. “We started on a dry track for race one, and I quickly took the lead. Then it started to rain. It made things more difficult because I was in the lead and had nobody in front of me to act as a guide. But the team gave me clear signs and I managed to keep the lead over the laps until the rain cleared. I then increased the pace again to win the race. By the time the second race started, the track was drenched. I never feel really comfortable on a wet track, so I didn’t try any tricks. The grip was tricky, making Guintoli and Melandri collide behind me. Sylvain was able to get back on his bike and he even eventually overtook me, but I only lost one point. In the end, I further increased my overall lead.”

GP of Great Britain

Ricciardo third at Silverstone

Lewis Hamilton triumphed for the second time in his career at Siverstone, ahead of Valteri Bottas and Daniel Ricciardo. He is back within four points of Nico Rosberg in the Championship.

cr1-F1-UK-2014

 

 

 

 

The facts

The race began in turmoil with Kimi Raikkönen’s very violent accident during the first lap. The Ferrari driver smashed his single seater to pieces, on his own, crashing into the safety barriers, the necessary repairs interrupting the race for an hour. When the race got back under weigh, Lewis Hamilton was fourth behind Nico Rosberg and the two McLarens driven by Jenson Button and Kevin Magnusson. He rapidly caught up with his team mate, who was forced to retire later with a gearbox problem.

The sectators’ darling then found himself ideally positioned to win, six years to the day after his first victory at Silverstone. He didn’t let the opportunity slip away, dominating the race to finish with an enormous lead (thirty seconds) over Bottas and Ricciardo, who finished third, thanks to an offbeat one-stop strategy. At the flag, the Australian held onto his third place with eight-tenths of a second in hand over Jenson Button. The other Red Bull driver, Sebastian Vettel, finished fifth, in spite of a poorly controlled start (dropping from 2nd to 5th place in the first lap).

His duel with Fernando Alonso late in the race was splendid, muscular, and borderline compliant; the German finally came off better. No Lotus finished in the points in Great Britain, Romain Grosjean having to make do with twelfth place. Pastor Maldonado was even further downfield when his engine gave up the ghost three laps before the line.

The figure

8 – Daniel Ricciardo was suffering at the end of the race with worn tyres, Jenson Button catching him a second per lap. The Australian held on to his third place by the skin of his teeth (a mere eight-tenths) to claim his fourth podium place this season.

The quote

“He (Fernando Alonso) is not leaving me enough room,” complained Vettel, frequently, over his radio while he battled it out with the Spaniard, before squeezing past.

The anecdote

The British actor, Jude Law, was invited by the Lotus team to Silverstone, and spent a highly enjoyable time with the drivers, notably Romain Grosjean, in his words “a real gentleman”.

Next up

German Grand Prix (18-20 July)

Grand Prix de Hongrie

Ricciardo sort du chaos

Daniel Ricciardo remporte sa deuxième victoire en Formule 1, la deuxième cette saison 2014 pour le pilote Red Bull, qui, après le Canada, a surgi du chaos hongrois pour l’emporter au terme d’une bataille à trois, devant Fernando Alonso (Ferrari) et Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes).

cr1-F1-Hongrie-2014

 

 

 

 

Les faits

Le départ donné sur une piste mouillée, la course allait très vite s’emballer et Nico Rosberg (Mercedes), parti en pole position, tenait son avantage jusqu’à la première apparition de la Voiture de Sécurité, au septième tour, moment où l’Allemand ne trouvait pas le temps de plonger dans la voie des stands et lâchait quelques secondes après les commandes du GP.

Pendant ce temps-là, son équipier Hamilton, parti des stands, entamait une folle remontée au cœur du trafic, une habitude pour le Britannique, ces dernières courses. Au final, l’Anglais en profite pour récupérer trois point sur son principal rival, au Championnat des Pilotes.

Sur une stratégie décalée, Alonso n’était pas loin de la victoire mais ne pouvait rien faire, à trois tours du but, lorsque Ricciardo se portait à sa hauteur pour le passer et s’adjuger un superbe succès. Quelques instants plus-tôt, Ricciardo n’avait fait qu’une bouchée de Hamilton, sous les acclamations du garage Red Bull.

Le chiffre

9.- Comme le nombre de courses sans inscrire le moindre point en 2014 pour Romain Grosjean. Le pilote Lotus a de nouveau été contraint à l’abandon, ce dimanche après-midi en Hongrie. Le Français n’a plus accroché le top 10 depuis Monaco.

La phrase

« Quand on ne tente rien, on n’a rien. Mais abandonner derrière la Voiture de Sécurité, ça fait un petit peu mal ». Romain Grosjean, parti à la faute en essayant de chauffer ses pneumatiques derrière la Voiture de Sécurité.

L’anecdote

Victime d’un tête-à-queue après avoir glissé sur la bordure dans la ligne droite principal, Sebastian Vettel (7e) s’en est sorti en équilibriste, le flanc droit de sa RB10 frôlant le mur pour quelques centimètres.

À suivre

Belgique (22-24 août)

Grand Prix d’Allemagne

Rosberg roi d’Allemagne

Nico Rosberg remporte son Grand Prix national, en Allemagne, après s’être envolé de la pole position. Le jeune marié et leader au championnat des Pilotes a devancé Valtteri Bottas ainsi que son équipier Lewis Hamilton, auteur d’une grande remontée. Pour Red Bull et Lotus, le cap de la mi-saison est passé dans la discrétion.

cr1-F1-Allemagne-2014

 

 

 

 

Les faits

Le ton de la course était donné dès le premier virage avec le tonneau de Felipe Massa (Williams), harponné par Kevin Magnussen (McLaren). Plus de peur que de mal pour le Brésilien, néanmoins toujours maudit en cette saison 2014.

Parti vingtième après un accident pendant la qualification samedi et un changement de boîte de vitesses dans la nuit, Hamilton a régalé les spectateurs avec des manœuvres de dépassements tout aussi magnifiques qu’osées. Le Britannique “sauve les meubles” à l’arrivée mais lâche dix points à son principal rival.

La bataille a fait rage pour les places d’honneur. Au volant de la Red Bull, Sebastian Vettel s’est offert les deux Ferrari d’un seul coup dans l’épingle pour se classer quatrième devant Fernando Alonso. Daniel Ricciardo, son coéquipier, termine en sixième position après une belle lutte avec la F14 T de l’Espagnol.

Le chiffre

10 – Dix. Comme le nombre de courses sans inscrire le moindre point en 2014 pour Pastor Maldonado. Le pilote Lotus a échoué en douzième position ce dimanche après-midi en Allemagne. Mais il a prolongé son contrat ce week-end pour 2015.

La phrase

« Nous avons pris des mesures pour que les leçons de 2014 soient bien apprises, et pour que nous puissions retrouver le niveau souhaité dès 2015, c’est-à-dire nous battre pour des podiums. Gardez-nous à l’œil en 2015 et au-delà ! ». Gérard Lopez, patron et copropriétaire de Lotus, qui croit en un retour de l’écurie au premier plan la saison prochaine.

L’anecdote

Sur la première marche du podium l’an dernier en Allemagne, Vettel ne s’est toujours pas imposé en 2014. Vainqueur de 38 courses en 5 saisons avec Red Bull, le quadruple champion du monde prend son mal en patience.

À suivre

Hongrie (25-27 juillet)

Résultats Superbike Laguna Seca

Le sprint était pour Sykes

Troisième de la première course américaine, Tom Sykes s’est offert dans la seconde sa huitième victoire de la saison au terme d’un sprint de sept tours qui restera dans les annales.

cr1-Superbike-Laguna-Seca-2014

 

 

 

 

Les courses

Parti en tête de la première course, Tom Sykes a malheureusement commis une petite erreur à l’entrée du Corkscrew dont ont profité Melandri et Guintoli pour lui passer sous le nez. Le temps de reprendre ses esprits, et de retrouver les débats avec six secondes de retard sur les deux pilotes Aprilia, le leader du championnat n’avait plus qu’à assurer la troisième marche du podium. La seconde manche courue sur seulement sept tours a en revanche permis au pilote Kawasaki d’étaler une fois de plus toute sa classe. Melandri étant allé au tapis, Sykes s’est vite mis à l’abri pour décrocher sa huitième victoire de la saison. « Un très bon résultat car nous avions pas mal de problèmes sur ce circuit la saison dernière, a commenté le Britannique. C’était important d’assurer deux podiums avant la trêve estivale. » Loris Baz a eu plus de mal sur le tracé de Laguna Seca. Neuvième de la première course, il a fait un peu mieux dans la seconde en terminant sixième. « Je ne peux pas être satisfait de ces résultats, expliquait le Français au soir de l’épreuve californienne. On a eu des problèmes de réglages tout au long du week-end et nous n’avons jamais réussi à les résoudre. J’avais du mal à faire tourner la moto, et sur ce genre de tracé très technique avec beaucoup de relief, ça ne pardonne pas. Je suis vraiment déçu de mon week-end. » Dans la catégorie Evo, David Salom s’est imposé à deux reprises. Dixième à trois secondes de Baz en première manche, L’Espagnol a fini huitième de la seconde devant Andreozzi et Camier. Comme chaque année, le Mondial Supersport a fait l’impasse sur le déplacement en Californie. Kenan Sofuoglu retrouvera la compétition début septembre à Jerez.

Le championnat

Grâce à ses deux podiums américains, Tom Sykes augmente encore un peu son avance au classement général. Le pilote Kawasaki mène désormais le classement général avec quarante-quatre points d’avance sur Sylvain Guintoli. Loris Baz rétrograde en revanche à la quatrième place. Le Français ne compte néanmoins que quatre petits points de retard sur Jonathan Rea. Douzième avec quatre-vingt-huit points au compteur, Salom consolide quant à lui sa place de premier pilote Evo.

L’histoire

L’hommage est celui de Sylvain Guintoli, deuxième du championnat du monde Superbike et adversaire principal de Tom Sykes dans la course au titre : « Personne ne peut battre Tom sur ce genre de sprint de sept tours. Il est vraiment très fort pour se mettre en action dès le premier virage. Contrairement à la plupart de ses adversaires, il est capable d’être tout de suite à cent pour cent. Et une fois qu’il est lancé, c’est difficile d’aller le chercher. » Ces propos, le dauphin du pilote Kawasaki les a tenus au soir de l’épreuve de Laguna Seca, après que Sykes eût remporté une deuxième manche réduite à sept tours. Un sprint dû à deux interruptions de course sur drapeaux rouges, la première causée par la chute d’Alex Lowes, la seconde par celle de Sylvain Barrier. « C’est peut-être aussi pour cela que je suis si fort lors des séances de Superpole, avance le champion du monde en titre et leader du championnat. Je parviens à me mettre très vite en action. Et sur ce genre de tracé très technique, faire la différence au départ, c’est se donner un énorme avantage. » Une qualité que l’Anglais doit aussi en partie à son passé en BSB, le championnat Superbike britannique dont la plupart des épreuves se déroulent sur de petits circuits qui réclament beaucoup d’explosivité.

Résultats MotoGP Allemagne

Le team Marc VDS trace sa route

En terminant deuxième et quatrième du Grand Prix d’Allemagne Moto2, Kallio et Rabat ont conforté leurs positions au classement général. Désormais séparés de dix-neuf points, les deux pilotes du team Marc VDS tracent leur route vers le titre mondial.

cr1-MotoGP-Allemagne-2014

 

 

 

 

Les courses

Leader de vingt-six des vingt-neuf tours du Grand Prix d’Allemagne, Mika Kallio aurait dû remporter au Sachsenring sa troisième victoire de la saison. Le Suisse Dominique Aegerter l’en a empêché en le doublant dans l’avant-dernier virage. « Il est très bien ressorti du virage 11 et je n’ai rien pu faire pour l’empêcher de se glisser devant moi en bas de la descente, raconte Kallio. J’ai bien tenté ma chance dans le dernier virage, mais il n’y avait rien à faire. » En bagarre avec Simone Corsi, Tito Rabat a vu quant à lui le podium lui échapper dans le dernier tour. « Je pensais pouvoir le redoubler dans le dernier virage, mais j’ai fait une erreur en rentrant trop fort et en sortant trop large », regrettait l’Espagnol. En MotoGP, Stefan Bradl a terminé hors des points après avoir pris le départ avec des réglages inadptés. Enfin en Moto3, Miguel Oliveira est allé à la faute alors qu’Arthur Sissis a réussi à franchir la ligne d’arrivée en treizième position. Livio Loi a lui abandonné à cause d’un problème mécanique après être sorti de la piste en début de course pour éviter un adversaire tombé devant lui.

Le championnat

Désormais séparés de dix-neuf points, Tito Rabat et Mika Kallio abordent la trêve estivale aux deux premières places du championnat Moto2 avec une confortable avance sur leurs adversaires. Troisième du classement général, Viñales compte en effet cinquante points de retard sur le leader espagnol. En MotoGP, Stefan Bradl perd une place et glisse en neuvième position au cap de la mi-saison. Pas de changement dans la catégorie Moto3 puisque Miguel Oliveira conserve sa huitième place. Livo Loi pointe lui, désormais, en dix-huitième position.

L’histoire

Ils ont joué, ils ont perdu. Mais pas de beaucoup. Quand les pilotes MotoGP viennent se ranger sur la grille de départ du Grand Prix d’Allemagne, une ondée vient de détremper le circuit du Sachsenring. Tout le monde est en pneus pluie. Mais la piste sèche rapidement. Stefan Bradl et son équipe décident alors de changer de roues pour prendre le départ en slicks. Mais il leur faut aussi modifier les réglages de suspensions. Et c’est là que tout se complique. « On a eu un petit problème avec l’amortisseur arrière, raconte Christophe Bourguignon, le directeur technique de l’équipe LCR. Le mécanicien qui s’occupait de la fourche a dû prêter main forte à celui qui travaillait à l’arrière, et nous n’avons pas eu le temps de changer les ressorts de fourche. Stefan a donc dû prendre le départ avec des réglages qui n’étaient pas adaptés à la situation. » Les hommes de Lucio Cecchinello avaient pourtant fait le bon choix, puisqu’à l’issue du tour de chauffe, tous les pilotes qui étaient en pluie sont repassés par les stands pour changer de machine. Parti seul en tête, Bradl n’a malheureusement pas pu profiter du bon coup qu’il avait senti. Après cinq tours en tête, devant son public, le pilote allemand a dû rendre les armes avant de franchir la ligne d’arrivée en seizième position.

Résultats Superbike Portugal

La tête et les jambes

Alors que la pluie avait décidé de s’inviter pour perturber la huitième manche du championnat du monde Superbike, Tom Sykes a fait preuve d’intelligence sur le circuit de Portimao. Grâce à une victoire et une huitième place, le tenant du titre a conforté son avance au classement général.

cr1 Superbike Portugal 2014

 

 

 

 

Les courses

Après s’être offert sa vingt-deuxième Superpole samedi après-midi, Tom Sykes n’a pas fait de quartier lors de la première course du week-end portugais. Rapidement installé au commandement, il a parfaitement géré la brève averse venue jouer avec les nerfs des pilotes pour décrocher sa septième victoire de la saison, la vingt-et-unième de sa carrière en Superbike. Le pilote Kawasaki rejoint ainsi Max Biaggi au palmarès de la discipline. La seconde course qui s’est déroulée sur une piste détrempée a été plus délicate pour le champion du monde en titre. Manquant de grip, il s’est contenté d’une huitième place en évitant les pièges dans lesquels sont tombés plusieurs de ses adversaires. Troisième de la première course à trois secondes de son coéquipier, Loris Baz a fini devant lui dans la seconde manche en franchissant la ligne d’arrivée en sixième position. En Supersport où la course a été raccourcie de six tours à cause de la pluie, Kenan Sofuoglu est monté sur son troisième podium de la saison en terminant derrière Michael van der Mark et Jack Kennedy.

Le championnat

En maîtrisant parfaitement des conditions piégeuses à souhait, Tom Sykes a conforté à Portimao sa position de leader. Alors que le championnat vient de basculer dans sa seconde moitié, le tenant du titre compte désormais quarante-trois points d’avance sur Sylvain Guintoli. Quant à Loris Baz, troisième du classement général, il ne compte plus que cinq points de retard sur son compatriote et néanmoins adversaire. En Supersport, Kenan Sofuoglu profite pour sa part des seize points empochés à Portimao pour revenir à la quatrième place du championnat.

L’histoire

Pour décrocher un titre de champion du monde, il faut parfois se contenter de jouer la sécurité et inscrire les points qui compteront en fin de saison. Tom Sykes a confirmé au Portugal qu’il est bien le plus rapide en piste, mais il a également démontré qu’il sait gérer quand la situation l’exige. Solide vainqueur de la première course, le pilote Kawasaki n’a pas tenté le diable lors de la seconde manche disputée sous la pluie. Laissant ses adversaires directs aller à la faute, il s’est intelligemment contenté d’inscrire huit précieux points en évitant d’en faire trop. « La météo avait décidé de jouer avec nos nerfs, raconte le Britannique. Nous sommes partis sur le sec pour la première course, et je me suis rapidement installé à la première place. Et puis à un moment il a commencé à tomber quelques gouttes. C’était perturbant car j’étais seul en tête et je n’avais personne devant moi pour me servir de repère. Mais l’équipe m’a bien panneauté et j’ai pu assurer quelques tours, le temps que la pluie se dissipe. J’ai ensuite augmenté à nouveau le rythme pour remporter la course. Pour le second départ, la piste était cette fois détrempée. Je n’étais pas super à l’aise dans ces conditions, et je n’ai donc pas tenté le diable. L’adhérence était délicate. D’ailleurs, derrière moi, Guintoli et Melandri se sont accrochés. Sylvain a pu repartir et a même fini par me doubler, mais il ne m’a repris qu’un point. Au final, j’ai encore augmenté mon avance au classement général. »

Grand Prix de Grande-Bretagne

Ricciardo troisième à Silverstone

Lewis Hamilton s’est imposé pour la deuxième fois de sa carrière à Silverstone, devant Valtteri Bottas et Daniel Ricciardo. Il revient à quatre points de Nico Rosberg au championnat.

cr1-F1-UK-2014

 

 

 

 

Les faits

La course a commencé fort avec l’accident très violent de Kimi Raikkönen dès le premier tour. Le pilote Ferrari a explosé sa monoplace tout seul dans les barrières de sécurité, provoquant une heure d’interruption pour procéder aux réparations. À la reprise, Lewis Hamilton est quatrième derrière Nico Rosberg et les deux McLaren de Jenson Button et Kevin Magnussen. ll est vite revenu sur son coéquipier, contraint plus tard à renoncer à cause d’un problème de boîte de vitesses.

Le chouchou du public se retrouvait alors en position idéale pour triompher, six ans jour pour jour après sa première victoire à Silverstone. Il ne laissait pas passer sa chance et s’imposait avec une énorme avance (trente secondes) sur Bottas et Ricciardo, troisième grâce à une stratégie décalée à un seul arrêt. Sur la ligne, l’Australien gardait sa place pour huit dixièmes de seconde face à Jenson Button. L’autre pilote Red Bull Sebastian Vettel s’est classé cinquième, malgré un départ mal maîtrisé (passé de la 2e à la 5e place dans le premier tour).

Son duel avec Fernando Alonso en fin de course est splendide, musclé, à la limite du correct, l’Allemand en est finalement sorti vainqueur. Pas de Lotus dans les points en Grande-Bretagne, Romain Grosjean a dû se contenter d’une douzième place à l’arrivée, Pastor Maldonado était encore plus loin quand son moteur a rendu l’âme à trois tours de la fin.

Le chiffre

8 – Daniel Ricciardo a souffert en fin de course avec ses pneus usés, Jenson Button revenait à raison d’une seconde au tour. L’Australien a conservé sa troisième place pour huit dixièmes et s’est adjugé son quatrième podium de la saison.

La phrase

« Il (Fernando Alonso) ne me laisse pas assez de place », s’est souvent plaint Vettel dans sa radio quand il était à la lutte avec le pilote espagnol avant de trouver l’ouverture.

L’anecdote

L’acteur britannique Jude Law était invité par l’écurie Lotus à Silverstone, il a passé un excellent moment avec les pilotes notamment Romain Grosjean, un  »vrai gentleman » selon ses mots.

À venir

Grand Prix d’Allemagne (18-20 juillet)